Sen. Simpson

Sens. Cloutier, Ennis, Hansen, Lavelle, Lawson, Lopez, Marshall, Pettyjohn, Richardson, Sokola





WHEREAS, the University of Delaware has stood as a powerful creator and driver of the ideas, inventions, passions and progress that have been crucial to making the world a better place for 275 years; and

WHEREAS, the University of Delaware traces its roots to the academy founded in 1743 by the Rev. Francis Alison, whose students included three signers of the Declaration of Independence — George Read, James Smith and Thomas McKean — and others who went on to serve our nation as political leaders, physicians, ministers, scholars and more; and

WHEREAS, through mutual agreement, the Trustees of Rev. Alison’s Academy and the State of Delaware established a charter in 1833 to form Newark College, and this institution was later renamed Delaware College and joined the Women’s College — established in 1914 — to become in 1921 what is today known as the University of Delaware; and

WHEREAS, the University of Delaware is a land-grant, sea-grant and space-grant university committed to education and research to advance the public good, especially in partnership with institutions of higher education in Delaware, throughout the region and on all seven continents; and

WHEREAS, the University of Delaware pioneered the concept of study abroad when Professor Raymond Kirkbride led a group of students to France in 1923, building international bridges of understanding and engagement, and now offers more than 100 study abroad programs in over 40 countries, being recognized as among the nation’s leaders in global education; and

WHEREAS, the University of Delaware provides unique classroom and laboratory experiences, as well as hands-on learning opportunities, to prepare students from all over the world for fulfilling careers and engaged citizenship and offers three Associate’s programs, 149 Bachelor’s programs, 132 Master’s programs and 62 Doctoral programs; and

WHEREAS, the University of Delaware is a top-tier research institution, attracting $143.5 million in sponsored research projects in FY2017, putting it among the top 3 percent of institutions nationwide; and

WHEREAS, the University of Delaware purchased the former Chrysler assembly plant in Newark in 2009 and converted it into the Science, Technology and Advanced Research (STAR) Campus, which is becoming a robust driver of economic development for the state and region; and

WHEREAS, the University of Delaware is committed to providing an affordable and accessible world-class education by assisting students with financial aid, attracting top-notch faculty and offering unique academic programs, many of which are ranked among the best in the nation; and

WHEREAS, the University of Delaware is especially committed to serving Delawareans, with 8,890 state residents enrolled in undergraduate, graduate and professional studies programs and conferring degrees to 2,672 Delawareans in 2017-18; and

WHEREAS, more than 670 Delaware employers sought the University’s students for 1,211 job openings and 465 internship opportunities in FY2017, and about 95 percent of University of Delaware graduates are employed, serving in the military or pursuing further education within six months of earning their bachelor’s degree; and

WHEREAS, the University of Delaware has more than 179,000 loyal and proud alumni living around the world, and has graduated such accomplished people as 47th Vice President of the United States Joseph R. Biden Jr.; 1978 Nobel laureate Daniel Nathans; inventors Robert Gore and Wayne Westerman; Super Bowl XLVII MVP quarterback Joe Flacco; 2016 Olympic gold-medal basketball player Elena Delle Donne, and many others; and

WHEREAS, the University of Delaware is dedicated to serving the community, with students spending about 350,000 hours a year helping others and with researchers and students working with more than 320 organizations in Delaware through the partnerships for Public Education, Healthy Communities and Arts & Culture to improve lives, strengthen families and ensure a thriving future for our state, all of which contribute to the University’s recognition by the Carnegie Foundation as a community-engaged institution, a designation shared by only 10 percent of colleges and universities nationwide; and

WHEREAS, in addition to serving Delaware’s high school students, over 800 youth statewide attended over 40 University of Delaware summer camp programs last year to shape career exploration, special interests, and college aspirations; and

WHEREAS, the University of Delaware fields student-athletes in 21 Division I NCAA teams—including those that have won national championships—and numerous club sports and intramural programs, helping students learn such essential values as teamwork, commitment and physical fitness; and

WHEREAS, the University of Delaware is dedicated to building on this legacy of achievement, addressing the greatest challenges facing society and continuing to make a positive impact on Delaware and the world.


BE IT RESOLVED by the Senate of the 149th General Assembly of the State of Delaware that the Senate does hereby recognize and congratulate the University of Delaware, its students, alumni, faculty, staff, and administration on marking 275 years of fulfilling its vital missions of education, research and service to the community.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Senate also extends its sincere and heartfelt gratitude to the University of Delaware for providing Delawareans with opportunities to obtain a better life for themselves and their families through gainful employment, and by providing Delaware’s business and industry with a competent, highly trained workforce.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a suitably prepared copy of this Resolution shall be presented to Dr. Dennis Assanis, President of the University of Delaware, upon its enactment.


This resolution recognizes the University of Delaware on its 275- year history.

Author: Senator Simpson