

SPONSOR: Rep. Schwartzkopf & Rep. Longhurst & Rep. Viola & Rep. D. Short & Rep. Hudson on behalf of all Representatives & Sen. McBride & Sen. Henry & Sen. Poore & Sen. Simpson & Sen. Lavelle on behalf of all Senators

## HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES 149th GENERAL ASSEMBLY

## HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 95

## HONORING THE YOUNG WOMEN FROM ACROSS THE STATE OF DELAWARE PARTICIPATING IN THE 2018 SESSION OF DELAWARE GIRLS STATE.

1	WHEREAS, during the week of June 17, 2018, young women from across the State of Delaware, students at the		
2	State's public and private high schools, come to Legislative Hall in Dover to participate in the 2018 session of Delaware		
3	Girls State; and		
4	WHEREAS, during their stay here, these young women will receive valuable hands-on training and experience in		
5	the legislative process and the ways of State government, which will serve them in good stead in their later lives; and		
6	WHEREAS, the experience they receive during Girls State will prove especially useful to those among their		
7	number who go on to assume leadership roles in government or seek elective office in the future; and		
8	WHEREAS, the participants in Delaware Girls State have, during their session, elected from among their ranks a		
9	Governor, a Lieutenant Governor, a Secretary of State, an Attorney General, a State Treasurer, a State Auditor, a State		
10	Insurance Commissioner, a Secretary of Education and leaders of both houses of the General Assembly; and		
11	WHEREAS, the young women participating in the 2018 session of Girls State include:		
12	Tori-Lynn Glover of Appoquinimink High School		
13	Madison Wells-James of Appoquinimink High School		
14	Beatrix Moore of Archmere Academy		
15	Madeline Singh of Archmere Academy		
16	Nia Anderson of Cab Calloway School of the Arts		
17	Molly Erdman of Cab Calloway School of the Arts		
18	Isabelle (Izzy) Hidalgo of Cab Calloway School of the Arts		
19	Selma Cermeric of Caesar Rodney High School		
20	Wyatt Patterson of Caesar Rodney High School		
21	Yuxin He of Cape Henlopen High School		
22	Cainijia Mosley of Cape Henlopen High School		
	Page 1 of 4		

23	Sarah Klabunde of Charter School of Wilmington
24	Tara Lennon of Charter School of Wilmington
25	Ria Swaminathan of Charter School of Wilmington
26	Srivasudha (Vasu) Jayanthi of Concord High School
27	Samantha Lopez-Rico of Conrad Schools of Science
28	Nicole Pilla of Conrad Schools of Science
29	Sarah Bailey of Delaware Academy of Public Safety & Science
30	Alix Pantano of Delaware Academy of Public Safety & Science
31	Janelly Salazar-Ramirez of Delaware Academy of Public Safety & Science
32	Christina Colatriano of Delcastle Technical High School
33	Zaria Pierce of Delcastle Technical High School
34	Rebecca Wyatt of Delmar High School
35	Elizabeth Kelly of Delaware Military Academy
36	Erin Naughton of Delaware Military Academy
37	Madison Williams of Delaware Military Academy
38	Aspen Ozer of Dover High School
39	Abigail O'Sields of Indian River High School
40	Grace Snyder of Indian River High School
41	Stephanie Erwin of Lake Forest High School
42	Caila Miles of Lake Forest High School
43	Brenna DeRocili of Middletown High School
44	Alexa Freeman of Middletown High School
45	Abigail Griffith of Middletown High School
46	Anna Godlewski of Middletown High School
47	Tamara Sarapong of Middletown High School
48	Kirsten Scher of Middletown High School
49	Stephanie Cabrera-Ruiz of Milford Senior High School
50	Amber Landon of Milford Senior High School
51	Courtney Brown of Newark Charter School
52	Hannah Kim of Newark Charter School

53	Lawson Schultz of Newark Charter School
54	Esha Shah of Newark Charter School
55	Mackenzie Smith of Newark Charter School
56	Jaime Hoffman of Newark High School
57	Kaiyla Jolley of Newark High School
58	Julles Stevenson of Newark High School
59	Anne (Ali) Rosenthal of Sanford School
60	Tania Laurent of Seaford High School
61	Brianna Walker of Seaford High School
62	Rachel Hexamer of Smyrna High School
63	Jillian Hughes of Smyrna High School
64	Katie Rocco of Smyrna High School
65	Emiy Marthaler of St. Thomas More Academy
66	Jessica Simmons of St. Thomas More Academy
67	Jessica Zhang of St. Thomas More Academy
68	Angie Rivera-Pavon of Sussex Academy
69	Grace Scott of Sussex Academy
70	Kathryn Van Pelt of Sussex Academy
71	Madison Rice of Sussex Central High School
72	Rebecca Lenhart of Sussex Technical High School
73	Onaedo Okoye of Sussex Technical High School
74	Karli Sunnergren of Sussex Technical High School
75	Becky Trader of Sussex Technical High School
76	Jacqueline Yeo of Sussex Technical High School
77	Eirinn Sikes of Tatnall High School
78	Olivia Thompson of Wilmington Christian School
79	Anissa Cartagena of William Penn High School
80	Sarah Getchell of William Penn High School

81 WHEREAS, during their week-long session these young women will learn many of the details of the process 82 whereby a bill becomes a law, and debate and discuss many issues both timely and of great importance to the State of 83 Delaware; and

84 WHEREAS, throughout the week the Girls State delegates will be deeply involved in a study of such subjects as 85 conduct of elections, the operation for the legislative caucus and committee systems, majority and minority positions, and 86 many other aspects of the political process, all of which will give them valuable knowledge of the manner in which the 87 American system of representative democracy operates; and

88 WHEREAS, the American Legion Auxiliary Department of Delaware has once again sponsored this important 89 educational program, as it has done for many years, thereby displaying a deep dedication to the American system of 90 government and to the essential task of ensuring that our youth understand and appreciate that system;

91 NOW, THEREFORE:

BE IT RESOLVED by the House of Representatives of the 149<sup>th</sup> General Assembly of the State of Delaware, the Senate thereof concurring therein, that its members do hereby commend each of the participants in the 2018 Girls State session for their hard work and extend to each sincere congratulations on a very successful session at Legislative Hall.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the members of the House of Representatives and the Senate do hereby extend to every participant sincere best wishes for success in all future endeavors, together with the hope that at least a few of these fine young Delawareans may one day find themselves again in the House or Senate chamber as duly elected representatives of their fellow citizens.

99 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the members of the House of Representatives and the Senate do hereby 100 commend and thank the American Legion Auxiliary Department of Delaware for its sponsorship of this outstanding 101 program.

102 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that copies of this Resolution shall be presented to each of the delegates of the

103 2018 Session of Girls State, and to the sponsor of the event, the American Legion Auxiliary Department of Delaware.

## <u>SYNOPSIS</u>

This concurrent resolution recognizes and honors the young women of Delaware participating in the 2018 session of Delaware Girls State.