

SPONSOR: Rep. Hudson & Sen. Cloutier & Sen. Poore

Reps. Baumbach, Bennett, Bolden, Briggs King, Dukes, Keeley, Kenton, Kowalko, Osienski, Outten, Paradee, Ramone, B. Short, M. Smith; Sens. Ennis, Hocker,

Lavelle, Lopez, Richardson

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES 149th GENERAL ASSEMBLY

HOUSE BILL NO. 301
AS AMENDED BY
HOUSE AMENDMENT NO. 2
AND
SENATE AMENDMENT NO. 1

AN ACT TO AMEND TITLE 13 OF THE DELAWARE CODE RELATING TO THE DOMESTIC VIOLENCE COORDINATING COUNCIL.

BE IT ENACTED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF DELAWARE:

Section 1. Amend § 2102, Title 13 of the Delaware Code by making deletions as shown by strikethrough and insertions as shown by underline as follows:

§ 2102. Composition.

The Council shall consist of the following members:

- (1) The Chief Judge of the Family Court;
- (2) Two members of the House of Representatives (1 from each caucus) appointed by the Speaker of the House of Representatives.
 - (3) Two members of the Senate (1 from each caucus) appointed by the President Pro Tempore of the Senate.
 - (4) The Attorney General;
 - (5) The Chief Defender;
 - (6) The Secretary of the Department of Safety and Homeland Security;
- (7) A representative of the law-enforcement community appointed by the Secretary of the Department of Safety and Homeland Security;
- (8) An at-large member representing victims of domestic violence elected by the Council at the first meeting of each calendar year;
- (9) A representative of the health care community designated by the Board of Medical Licensure and Discipline;
 - (10) The President Judge of the Superior Court;
 - (11) The Commissioner of the Department of Correction;

Page 1 of 2

HR: RDS: AFJ: 0801490338 LC: DIG: JDW: 5971490296 Released: 05/03/2018 04:45 PM

- (12) The Secretary of the Department of Services for Children, Youth and Their Families;
- (13) Four at large members elected by the Council at the first meeting of each calendar;
- (14) An at-large member representing victims of sexual assault elected by the Council at the first meeting of each calendar year; and
- (15) A judicial officer from the Court of Common Pleas to be appointed by the Chief Judge of the Court of Common Pleas.
- (13) Seven members elected by the Council as follows: 1 member representing victims or survivors of domestic violence, 1 member representing victims or survivors of sexual assault, 1 member representing the health care community, and 4 members of the public.
 - (a) The term of the at-large members elected by the Council shall be 3 years. At-large members may be eligible for reelection.
 - (b) In case of a vacancy before the expiration of an at-large member's term, a successor shall be elected by the Council within 60 days of the vacancy.
 - (c) At-large members may be removed by the Council if they do not attend 2 or more consecutive Council meetings.

Section 2. This Act shall be effective for Council-elected members upon the first meeting of the 2019 calendar year.

Page 2 of 2 HR: RDS: AFJ: 0801490338 Released: 05/03/2018 04:45 PM LC: DIG: JDW: 5971490296