CHAPTER 222 FORMERLY SENATE BILL NO. 81

AN ACT TO AMEND TITLE 29 OF THE DELAWARE CODE RELATING TO THE DELAWARE HERITAGE COMMISSION.

BE IT ENACTED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF DELAWARE:

Section 1. Amend Chapter 32, Title 29 of the Delaware Code by making insertions as shown by underlining and deletions as shown by strike through as follows:

- § 3201. Creation and membership; termination.
- (a) The Delaware Heritage Commission is established and shall be composed of 17 members, 15 of whom shall be citizens of the State appointed by the Governor and two of whom shall be ex officio. Appointed Mmembers shall serve terms of up to 3 years, excepting the Chairperson, who shall serve at the pleasure of the Governor. Members shall be appointed for staggered terms, so that no more than 5 members' terms shall expire in any 1 calendar year.
- (b) Members of the Commission shall serve without compensation, except that they may be reimbursed for reasonable and necessary expenses incident to their duties as members of the Commission.
- (c) The Director of the Division of Historical and Cultural Affairs and the Director of the Delaware Public Archives shall serve as ex officio <u>voting</u> members of the Commission.
- (1) The Director of the Delaware Public Archives shall be a voting member by virtue of his or her administrative duties overseeing the Delaware Heritage Office, as set forth in § 3202(b) of this title, and the responsibilities of his or her office under regulations established by the National Historical Publications and Records Commission of the National Archives and Records Administration.
- (2) The Director of the Division of Historical and Cultural Affairs, and s The Commission may appoint such other representatives of government agencies and nonprofit organizations as the Commission as it may deem appropriate to appoint, and they shall be ex officio, nonvoting members. The Commission may create subcommittees, which may consist of nonmembers, to facilitate its work.
 - (d) Members of the Commission shall be eligible for reappointment.

Approved May 08, 2014