Sen. S. Elizabeth Lockman, Chair Sen. Anthony Delcollo Sen. Stephanie L. Hansen Sen. Ernesto Lopez Sen. John Walsh



Rep. David Bentz, Co-Chair Rep. Andria L. Bennett Rep. Jeffrey N. Spiegelman Rep. Sherry Dorsey Walker Rep. Lyndon D. Yearick

## STATE OF DELAWARE

## JOINT LEGISLATIVE OVERSIGHT AND SUNSET COMMITTEE

## **Orientation Minutes – 03.19.2019**

Chair Lockman called the meeting to order at 12:00 p.m. Committee members present included Co-Chair Bentz; Representatives Bennett, Spiegelman, Dorsey Walker, and Yearick; Senators Delcollo, Hansen, Lopez, and Walsh. Staff present included Mark Brainard, Jr. & Amanda McAtee, JLOSC Analysts; Holly Vaughn Wagner, Legislative Attorney; Mark Cutrona, Deputy Director/FOIA Coordinator of the Division of Research; Julie Fedele, Legislative Analyst, Office of the Controller General; and Natalie White, Administrative Specialist. A quorum was met.

Chair Lockman welcomed the members of the committee to the orientation meeting for the Joint Legislative Oversight and Sunset Committee ("JLOSC") of the 150<sup>th</sup> General Assembly, First Session and called for introductions.

Chair Lockman moved to item number 2 on the agenda, the approval of the committee rules. Holly Vaughn Wagner proposed updating Rule 11 and Rule 15. A motion was made by Senator Lopez to approve the revised JLOSC Rules for the 150<sup>th</sup> General Assembly, and was seconded by Representative Bennett. The motion carried 8 (Senators Lockman, Hansen, Delcollo, Lopez, and Walsh; Representatives Bentz, Bennett, and Yearick)-0, 2 absent (Representatives Dorsey Walker, and Spiegelman).

Chair Lockman moved to item number 3 on the agenda, the approval of the June 2018 meeting minutes. A motion was made by Senator Walsh to approve the minutes from the June 2018 meeting, and was seconded by Representative Bennett. The motion carried 8 (Senators Lockman, Hansen, Delcollo, Lopez, and Walsh; Representatives Bentz, Bennett, and Yearick)-0, 2 absent (Representatives Dorsey Walker, and Spiegelman).

A motion was made by Senator Delcollo and seconded by Senator Walsh to approve the minutes from the August 2018 meeting. The motion carried 8 (Senators Lockman, Hansen, Delcollo, Lopez, and Walsh; Representatives Bentz, Bennett, and Yearick)-0, 2 absent (Representatives Dorsey Walker, and Spiegelman).

Julie Fedele provided an update on the Special/Cleanup Project. The Director of Boards and Commissions, Lydia Massey was available to answer questions.

Holly Vaughn Wagner gave a presentation describing the committee's process. A clarification of the list of entities under review was given by JLOSC Analysts Amanda McAtee and Mark Brainard.

Mark Cutrona provided clarification on the FOIA procedure.

Discussion moved to proposed changes to committee statute. Representative Spiegelman motioned to change the committee statute to revise language regarding the "highest administrative office," and was seconded by Senator Delcollo. The motion carried 9 (Senators Lockman, Hansen, Delcollo, Lopez, and Walsh; Representatives Bentz, Bennett, Dorsey Walker, Spiegelman)-1 (Representative Yearick).

Discussion moved to the 2019 meeting dates. A motion was made by Representative Spiegelman to hold the first meeting on Tuesday April 2, and was seconded by Representative Dorsey Walker. The motion carried 10-0, with Senators Lockman, Hansen, Delcollo, Lopez, and Walsh, and Representatives Bentz, Bennett, Dorsey Walker, Spiegelman, and Yearick voting in favor, no opposed.

A motion was made by Senator Delcollo to approve the remaining 2019 Meeting Dates, and was seconded by Representative Dorsey Walker. The motion carried 10-0, with Senators Lockman, Hansen, Delcollo, Lopez, and Walsh, and Representatives Bentz, Bennett, Dorsey Walker, Spiegelman, and Yearick voting in favor, no opposed.

Senator Delcollo motioned to adjourn the meeting at 1:22pm, which was seconded by Representative Dorsey Walker. The motion carried 10-0, with Senators Lockman, Hansen, Delcollo, Lopez, and Walsh, and Representatives Bentz, Bennett, Dorsey Walker, Spiegelman, and Yearick voting in favor, no opposed.

Respectfully prepared by:

Amanda McAtee and Mark Brainard, JLOSC Analysts, Joint Legislative Oversight and Sunset Committee.

Access to the audio recording of this proceeding is available upon request.

Website: www.legis.delaware.gov