Sen. S. Elizabeth Lockman, Chair Sen. Anthony Delcollo Sen. Stephanie L. Hansen Sen. Ernesto Lopez Sen. John Walsh



Rep. David Bentz, Co-Chair Rep. Andria L. Bennett Rep. Jeffrey N. Spiegelman Rep. Sherry Dorsey Walker Rep. Lyndon D. Yearick

STATE OF DELAWARE

JOINT LEGISLATIVE OVERSIGHT AND SUNSET COMMITTEE

DACCTE Minutes – April 8, 2019

Chair Lockman called the meeting to order at 6:01 p.m. Committee members present included Co-Chair Bentz; Representatives Bennett, Dorsey Walker, Spiegelman, and Yearick; Senators Delcollo, Hansen, Lopez, and Walsh. Staff present included Mark Brainard, Jr. & Amanda McAtee, JLOSC Analysts; Holly Vaughn Wagner, Legislative Attorney; Ruth Ann Jones, Legislative Analyst, Office of the Controller General; and Natalie White, Administrative Specialist. A quorum was met.

Chair Lockman welcomed the members of the committee to the Delaware Advisory Council on Career & Technical Education (DACCTE) presentation meeting and called for introductions.

Chair Lockman moved to item number 2 on the agenda, the approval of the April 2, 2019 meeting minutes. A motion was made by Representative Spiegelman to approve the April 2, 2019 meeting minutes, and was seconded by Representative Bennett. The motion carried 9-0, with Senators Hansen, Lockman, Lopez, and Walsh, and Representatives Bennett, Bentz, Dorsey Walker, Spiegelman, and Yearick voting in favor, no opposed, 1 absent (Senator Delcollo).

Chair Lockman moved to item number 3 on the agenda, the presentation from DACCTE. Executive Director Manera Constantine and Council Chairman Sam Lathem gave a presentation about the history and services of DACCTE.

Senators Delcollo, Hansen, Lockman, Lopez, and Walsh and Representatives Bennett, Dorsey Walker, Spiegelman, and Yearick asked questions. Director Constantine, Chairman Lathem, Vice-chairman Robert Suppe, and Councilwoman Karen Hutchison provided clarification.

Public comment featured testimony from Robert Overmiller.

Representative Spiegelman motioned to adjourn the meeting at 8:05 p.m., which was seconded by Senator Lopez. The motion carried 10-0, with Senators Delcollo, Hansen, Lockman, Lopez, and Walsh, and Representatives Bennett, Bentz, Dorsey Walker, Spiegelman, and Yearick voting in favor, no opposed.

Respectfully prepared by:

Amanda McAtee and Mark Brainard, JLOSC Analysts, Joint Legislative Oversight and Sunset Committee.

Access to the audio recording of this proceeding is available upon request.

Legislative Council/Division of Research ◆ Legislative Hall ◆ 411 Legislative Avenue ◆ Dover, Delaware 19901

Mark Brainard, Research Analyst: 302-744-4225 ◆ Fax: 302-739-7553 ◆ Mark.Brainard@delaware.gov

Amanda McAtee, Research Analyst: 302-744-4021 ◆ Fax: 302-739-7553 ◆ Amanda.McAtee@delaware.gov

Website: www.legis.delaware.gov