Sen. S. Elizabeth Lockman, Chair Sen. Anthony Delcollo Sen. Stephanie L. Hansen Sen. Ernesto Lopez Sen. John Walsh



Rep. David Bentz, Co-Chair Rep. Andria L. Bennett Rep. Jeffrey N. Spiegelman Rep. Sherry Dorsey Walker Rep. Lyndon D. Yearick

STATE OF DELAWARE

JOINT LEGISLATIVE OVERSIGHT AND SUNSET COMMITTEE

Meeting Minutes – June 4, 2019

Chair Lockman called the meeting to order at 1:02 p.m. Committee members present included Chair Lockman; Senators Delcollo, Hansen, Lopez, and Walsh; Representatives Bennett, Bentz, Dorsey Walker, Spiegelman, and Yearick. Staff present included Mark Brainard, Jr. & Amanda McAtee, JLOSC Analysts; Holly Vaughn Wagner, Legislative Attorney; Natalie White, Administrative Specialist. A quorum was met. Chair Lockman welcomed the members of the committee to the meeting and called for introductions.

Chair Lockman moved to item number 2 on the agenda, the approval of the May 16, 2019 meeting minutes. A motion was made by Senator Lopez to approve the May 16, 2019 meeting minutes, and was seconded by Representative Dorsey Walker. The motion carried 8-0, with Senators Hansen, Lockman, Lopez, Walsh, and Representatives Bennett, Bentz, Dorsey Walker, and Spiegelman voting in favor, no opposed, Senator Delcollo and Representative Yearick absent.

Chair Lockman moved to item number 4 on the agenda, the discussion of the draft legislation. Senator Hansen made a motion to update the draft legislation related to the Council on Agriculture. Representative Bennett seconded the motion. The motion carried 9-0, with Senators Hansen, Lockman, Lopez, Walsh, and Representatives Bennett, Bentz, Dorsey Walker, Spiegelman, and Yearick voting in favor, no opposed, Senator Delcollo absent.

The discussion moved to another update to draft legislation related to DVI. Representatives Bentz, Bennett, Dorsey Walker, Spiegelman, Yearick and Senators Hansen and Walsh asked questions and discussed the update. Holly Vaughn Wagner and Amanda McAtee provided clarification. Dr. Debbie Harrington recommended adding one parent as a voting member and one person to represent institutions of higher learning. Senator Hansen made a motion to update the draft legislation related to adding 2 members to the taskforce: one being a parent of a visually impaired child and one representing an institution of higher education. Representative Dorsey Walker seconded the motion. The motion carried 9-0, with Senators Hansen, Lockman, Lopez, Walsh, and Representatives Bennett, Bentz, Dorsey Walker, Spiegelman, and Yearick voting in favor, no opposed, Senator Delcollo absent.

The discussion moved to another update to draft legislation related to DVI. Representative Spiegelman and Senator Hansen asked questions. Director of Boards and Commissions Lydia Massey provided clarification. Senator Hansen made a motion to update the draft legislation to specifically name Dr. Debbie Harrington and Sonya Lawrence to the DVI taskforce. Representative Dorsey Walker seconded the motion. The motion carried 10-0, with Senators

Legislative Council/Division of Research + Legislative Hall + 411 Legislative Avenue + Dover, Delaware 19901 Mark Brainard, Research Analyst: 302-744-4225 + Fax: 302-739-7553 + <u>Mark.Brainard@delaware.gov</u> Amanda McAtee, Research Analyst: 302-744-4021 + Fax: 302-739-7553 + <u>Amanda.McAtee@delaware.gov</u>

Website: www.legis.delaware.gov

Delcollo, Hansen, Lockman, Lopez, Walsh, and Representatives Bennett, Bentz, Dorsey Walker, Spiegelman, and Yearick voting in favor, no opposed.

Chair Lockman moved to item number 2 on the agenda, the discussion 2020 Reviews. Members of the Committee proposed potential entities for JLOSC review in 2020. Representatives Dorsey Walker, Spiegelman, Yearick and Senators Delcollo, Hansen, and Walsh asked questions. Lydia Massey, Holly Vaughn Wagner, and Director of the Division of Professional Regulation, David Mangler, provided clarification.

Representative Dorsey Walker motioned to adjourn the meeting at 1:52 p.m., which was seconded by Representative Bennett. The motion carried 10-0, with Senators Delcollo, Hansen, Lockman, Lopez, Walsh and Representatives Bennett, Bentz, Dorsey Walker, Spiegelman, and Yearick voting in favor, no opposed.

Respectfully prepared by:

Amanda McAtee and Mark Brainard, Jr., JLOSC Analysts, Joint Legislative Oversight and Sunset Committee.

Access to the audio recording of this proceeding is available upon request.