Sen. Kyle Evans Gay, Chair Sen. Stephanie L. Hansen Sen. Brian G. Pettyjohn Sen. Marie Pinkney Sen. Bryant L. Richardson



Rep. Sherry Dorsey Walker, Vice-Chair Rep. Krista Griffith Rep. Kendra Johnson Rep. Jeff N. Spiegelman Rep. Lyndon D. Yearick

## STATE OF DELAWARE

## JOINT LEGISLATIVE OVERSIGHT AND SUNSET COMMITTEE

## Meeting Minutes - March 11, 2021

- 1 Chair Gay called the meeting to order at 11:04 a.m. Committee members present included
- 2 Vice-Chair Dorsey Walker; Senators Hansen, Pettyjohn, Pinkney, and Richardson, and
- 3 Representatives Griffith, Johnson, Spiegelman, and Yearick. Staff present included Mark Brainard, Jr.
- 4 and Amanda McAtee, Joint Legislative Oversight and Sunset Committee ("JLOSC") Analysts; Holly
- 5 Vaughn Wagner, Legislative Attorney for JLOSC and Deputy Director of the Division of Research;
- 6 Natalie White, Administrative Specialist; and Elliot Gray, Legislative Fellow. A quorum was met.
- 7 Chair Gay welcomed everyone to the meeting and called for Committee and staff introductions.
- 8 Chair Gay moved to item 2 on the agenda, the approval of the February 16, 2021 meeting minutes.
- 9 Representative Dorsey Walker motioned to approve the February 16, 2021 minutes as written, and
- 10 Senator Pettyjohn seconded the motion. The motion carried with Senators Gay, Hansen, Pettyjohn,
- 11 Pinkney, and Richardson, and Representatives Dorsey Walker, Griffith, Johnson, Spiegelman, and
- 12 Yearick voting in favor, none opposed.
- 13 Chair Gay moved to item 3 on the agenda, the discussion and selection of entities for JLOSC's 2022
- 14 review. JLOSC Analysts Mark Brainard, Jr. and Amanda McAtee presented on potential entities for
- 15 review in 2022.
- After the presentation on entities for review in 2022, Representative Spiegelman motioned to add the
- 17 Medical Marijuana Act Oversight Committee to the shortlist for entities for review in 2022. Senator
- 18 Pettyjohn seconded the motion. The motion carried with Senators Gay, Hansen, Pettyjohn, Pinkney,
- 19 and Richardson, and Representatives Dorsey Walker, Griffith, Johnson, Spiegelman, and Yearick
- voting in favor, none opposed. Additionally, questions and comments were made by Senators Gay,
- 21 Hansen, Pettyjohn, Pinkney, and Richardson, and Representatives Griffith, Johnson, and Yearick.
- 22 Clarification was provided by Mark Brainard Jr. and Amanda McAtee.
- 23 Chair Gay moved to item 4 of the agenda, the presentation of draft legislation. JLOSC Analyst Mark
- 24 Brainard, Jr. presented draft legislation on the Delaware Advisory Council on Career and Technical
- 25 Education ("DACCTE"). Representatives Spiegelman and Yearick asked questions, and Mark
- 26 Brainard, Jr. provided clarification. Representative Yearick motioned to approve the legislation, and
- 27 Representative Dorsey Walker seconded the motion. The motion carried with Senators Gay, Hansen,
- 28 Pettyjohn, Pinkney, and Richardson, and Representatives Dorsey Walker, Griffith, Johnson,
- 29 Spiegelman, and Yearick voting in favor, none opposed.

- 30 Legislative Attorney Holly Vaughn Wagner presented on the draft legislation regarding the Delaware
- 31 Health Information Network ("DHIN") Gift of Life Program. Chair Gay welcomed Dr. Jan Lee and
- 32 Scott Perkins from DHIN to provide clarification. Representatives Spiegelman and Yearick asked
- questions, and Dr. Jan Lee provided clarification. Representative Dorsey Walker motioned to approve
- 34 the legislation, and Representative Johnson seconded the motion. The motion carried with Senators
- 35 Gay, Hansen, Pettyjohn, Pinkney, and Richardson, and Representatives Dorsey Walker, Griffith,
- 36 Johnson, Spiegelman, and Yearick voting in favor, none opposed.
- 37 Holly Vaughn Wagner and Scott Perkins then presented on draft legislation relating to DHIN on data
- 38 analytics. Representatives Spiegelman and Yearick asked questions, and Scott Perkins and Dr. Jan Lee
- 39 provided clarification. Representative Dorsey Walker motioned to approve the legislation, and
- 40 Representative Spiegelman seconded the motion. The motion carried with Senators Gay, Hansen,
- 41 Pettyjohn, Pinkney, and Richardson, and Representatives Dorsey Walker, Griffith, Johnson,
- 42 Spiegelman, and Yearick voting in favor, none opposed.
- The meeting adjourned at 12:32 p.m.
- 45 Respectfully prepared by:

44

47

- 46 Amanda McAtee and Mark Brainard, Joint Legislative Oversight and Sunset Committee Analysts
- 48 Access to the complete video recording of this proceeding is available here.