Sen. Kyle Evans Gay, Chair Sen. Stephanie L. Hansen Sen. Brian G. Pettyjohn Sen. Marie Pinkney Sen. Bryant L. Richardson



Rep. Sherry Dorsey Walker, Vice-Chair Rep. Krista Griffith Rep. Kendra Johnson Rep. Jeff N. Spiegelman Rep. Lyndon D. Yearick

## STATE OF DELAWARE

## JOINT LEGISLATIVE OVERSIGHT AND SUNSET COMMITTEE

## **Meeting Minutes – April 27, 2021**

- 1 Chair Gay called the meeting to order at 9:32 a.m. Committee members present included
- 2 Vice-Chair Dorsey Walker; Senators Hansen, Pettyjohn, Pinkney, and Richardson, and
- 3 Representatives Griffith, Johnson, Spiegelman, and Yearick. Staff present included Mark Brainard, Jr.
- 4 and Amanda McAtee, Joint Legislative Oversight and Sunset Committee ("JLOSC") Analysts; Holly
- 5 Vaughn Wagner, Legislative Attorney for the JLOSC and Deputy Director of the Division of Research;
- 6 Natalie White, Administrative Specialist; and Elliot Gray, Legislative Fellow. A quorum was met.
- 7 Chair Gay welcomed everyone to the meeting and called for Committee and staff introductions. Chair
- 8 Gay moved to item 2 on the agenda, the approval of the April 1, 2021 JLOSC meeting minutes.
- 9 Representative Dorsey Walker motioned to approve the April 1, 2021 minutes as written, and Senator
- 10 Pettyjohn seconded the motion. The motion carried with Senators Gay, Hansen, Pettyjohn, Pinkney,
- and Richardson, and Representatives Dorsey Walker, Griffith, Johnson, Spiegelman, and Yearick
- voting in favor, none opposed.
- 13 Chair Gay moved to item 3 on the agenda, recommendations for the Health Resources Board ("HRB").
- 14 Chair Gay introduced Secretary Molly Magarik and Steven Constantino of the Department of Health
- and Social Services ("DHSS") and Dr. Nancy Fan of the Delaware Health Care Commission. JLOSC
- 16 Analyst Amanda McAtee. presented revised staff recommendations for HRB.
- 17 After the HRB recommendations presentation, Senators Gay, Hansen, Pettyjohn, Richardson, and
- 18 Representatives Dorsey Walker, Griffith, Johnson, Spiegelman and Yearick asked questions and made
- 19 comments. Secretary Molly Magarik, Amanda McAtee, Steven Constantino, and Dr. Nancy Fan
- 20 provided clarification.
- 21 Representative Griffith motioned to adopt recommendation 1 with option 1, and Senator Hansen
- 22 seconded the motion. The motion carried with Senators Gay, Hansen, Pettyjohn, Pinkney, and
- 23 Richardson, and Representatives Dorsey Walker, Griffith, Johnson, and Yearick voting in favor.
- 24 Representative Spiegelman voted in opposition.
- 25 Representative Dorsey Walker motioned to adopt recommendation 2 as written, and Senator Pettyjohn
- seconded the motion. The motion carried with Senators Gay, Hansen, Pettyjohn, Pinkney, and
- 27 Richardson, and Representatives Dorsey Walker, Griffith, Johnson, Spiegelman, and Yearick voting
- in favor, none opposed.
- 29 Senator Pettyjohn motioned to adopt recommendation 3 as written, and Representative Dorsey Walker
- 30 seconded the motion. The motion carried with Senators Gay, Hansen, Pettyjohn, Pinkney, and

- 31 Richardson, and Representatives Dorsey Walker, Griffith, Johnson, Spiegelman, and Yearick voting
- in favor, none opposed.
- 33 Representative Dorsey Walker motioned to adopt revised recommendation 4 as written, and
- 34 Representative Johnson seconded the motion. The motion carried with Senators Gay, Hansen,
- 35 Pettyjohn, Pinkney, and Richardson, and Representatives Dorsey Walker, Griffith, Johnson,
- 36 Spiegelman, and Yearick voting in favor, none opposed.
- 37 Representative Dorsey Walker motioned to adopt revised recommendation 4, option 1 as written, and
- 38 Senator Pinkney seconded the motion. The motion carried with Senators Gay, Hansen, Pettyjohn,
- 39 Pinkney, and Richardson, and Representatives Dorsey Walker, Griffith, Johnson, Spiegelman, and
- 40 Yearick voting in favor, none opposed.
- 41 Senator Pettyjohn motioned to adopt revised recommendation 5 as written, and Representative Dorsey
- Walker seconded the motion. The motion carried with Senators Gay, Hansen, Pettyjohn, Pinkney, and
- 43 Richardson, and Representatives Dorsey Walker, Griffith, Johnson, Spiegelman, and Yearick voting
- 44 in favor, none opposed.
- 45 Chair Gay moved on to item 4 on the agenda, draft legislation. Chair Gay introduced Scott Perkins of
- 46 Delaware Health Information Network ("DHIN"). Legislative Attorney Holly Vaughn Wagner
- 47 presented the draft legislation. After the draft legislation presentation, Chair Gay asked a question.
- 48 Scott Perkins provided clarification.
- 49 Representative Yearick motioned to approve the legislation regarding DHIN and dental insurers for
- 50 release, and Representative Johnson seconded the motion. The motion carried with Senators Gay,
- 51 Hansen, Pinkney, and Richardson, and Representatives Dorsey Walker, Griffith, Johnson, and Yearick
- 52 voting in favor, none opposed, with Senator Pettyjohn and Representative Spiegelman not present for
- 53 the vote.
- Senator Hansen motioned to approve the legislation regarding DHIN and the Department of Correction
- 55 ("DOC") for release, and Representative Dorsey Walker seconded the motion. The motion carried with
- 56 Senators Gay, Hansen, Pinkney, and Richardson, and Representatives Dorsey Walker, Griffith,
- 57 Johnson, and Yearick voting in favor, none opposed, with Senator Pettyjohn and Representative
- 58 Spiegelman not present for the vote.
- 59 Representative Griffith motioned to approve the legislation regarding DHIN and long-term care
- 60 facilities for release, and Representative Dorsey Walker seconded the motion. The motion carried with
- 61 Senators Gay, Hansen, Pinkney, and Richardson, and Representatives Dorsey Walker, Griffith,
- 62 Johnson, and Yearick voting in favor, none opposed, with Senator Pettyjohn and Representative
- 63 Spiegelman not present for the vote.
- The meeting adjourned at 11:26 a.m.
- Respectfully prepared by:
- 67 Amanda McAtee and Mark Brainard, Joint Legislative Oversight and Sunset Committee Analysts
- Access to the complete video recording of this proceeding is available here.