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Overview 

 Social media is a prominent source of entertainment and communication among all ages. Popular 

social media companies like Meta, Snap Inc., and X are largely responsible for the apps millions of users 

access each day. Apps like Instagram, Facebook, Snapchat, and X have minimum age requirements, usually 

set at 13 or above. The companies often require users to enter their birthday into the app in order to access 

age-appropriate content. However, the methods used to verify an individual’s age can vary, and in some 

cases users easily take advantage of the lax verification rules. Accordingly, underage use of social media 

platforms and exposure to inappropriate content is a growing concern across the country. 

 In recent years, states have enacted laws that place more stringent protections on children’s social 

media usage. All but 7 states and DC have introduced legislation to target social media age verification laws 

as of March 2025. Earlier this month, Utah became the first state to pass legislation requiring app stores to 

verify users’ ages and get parental consent for minors to download apps to their devices. This legislation 

has faced criticism from app stores like Google and Apple, who partnered with a tech policy group to lobby 

Utah legislators to reject the bill. These companies consider age a “matter of privacy”.  

 Under Utah’s bill, the ‘App Store Accountability Act’, app stores are required to request age 

information once an account is created and verify the user’s age. If the user is a minor, the app store account 

must be affiliated with a parent account, and parental consent must be issued before the minor downloads 

or purchases an app or in-app purchase. The bill also implements protections for personal age verification 

data and prohibits app store providers from enforcing contracts against minors without parental consent. 

This Act is the first legislation passed in the US that specifically targets app stores as opposed to individual 

social media platforms or apps. 

 Utah’s legislation builds off various efforts to protect children from dangerous digital environments. 

App store age verification – a popular method of addressing this issue - has been endorsed by over 50 child 

advocacy organizations. These organizations recently formed a coalition, called the Digital Childhood 

Alliance, to advocate for the “passage of app store laws”. The coalition cites a December 2024 analysis 

recommending that Apple and other app store developers apply independent review for software age 

ratings to mitigate instances of minors accessing age-inappropriate content.  

 

https://cybernews.com/editorial/mature-content-online/
https://about.fb.com/news/2024/04/ensuring-age-appropriate-experiences-on-meta-quest/#:~:text=We%E2%80%99re%20asking%20everyone%20who%20has%20a%20Meta%20Account,has%20access%20to%20age-appropriate%20tools%2C%20content%20and%20protections.
https://www.ncsl.org/technology-and-communication/social-media-and-children-2024-legislation
https://www.kuer.org/politics-government/2025-03-06/utah-is-the-1st-state-to-pass-a-bill-requiring-app-stores-to-verify-ages
https://www.kuer.org/politics-government/2025-03-06/utah-is-the-1st-state-to-pass-a-bill-requiring-app-stores-to-verify-ages
https://www.cbsnews.com/news/utah-apps-stores-age-verification-first-state/
https://le.utah.gov/~2025/bills/static/SB0142.html
https://www.digitalchildhoodalliance.org/
https://www.digitalchildhoodalliance.org/
https://www.wsj.com/tech/apples-app-store-puts-kids-a-click-away-from-a-slew-of-inappropriate-apps-dfde01d5
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Delaware Legislation on Social Media 

• In 2022, “The Digital Citizenship 

Education Act” was passed, requiring that 

the DE Department of Education maintain 

media literacy standards for schools 

throughout the state. No legislation 

regarding age restrictions or social media 

regulation has been passed. 

• In 2024, Delaware’s House failed to pass 

HB 265, which would have required an 

entity providing adult material harmful to 

minors (i.e. pornography) to verify the 

age of each individual accessing the 

service or face civil penalty. The bill was 

stricken on June 18th because House 

amendment 1, which sets a higher burden 

of proof, failed to pass. 

• 13 states- including neighboring states 

like New Jersey, Maryland, and Virginia- 

have enacted legislation to regulate teen 

social media usage. Thus far this session, 

Delaware is not one of them. 

Challenges of Restrictive Social Media 
Legislation 

• Criticism From Developers. App store 

developers like Apple and Google, who 

consider age a matter of privacy, would 

prefer age verification to be left up to 

individual apps, stating that the 

‘unnecessary’ need for sensitive 

documentation is “not in the interest of 

user safety”. 

• Restriction on Free Speech. Various civil 

rights groups view age verification to be 

too restrictive on minors’ free speech, 

arguing that requiring parental consent 

or a form of ID can curb civil liberties. 

• Lack of Accessibility. Legislation that 

would require a government-issued ID to 

obtain social media accounts may prevent 

undocumented residents or others unable 

to access ID services from accessing these 

apps. 

Recent Legislation on App Store 
Accountability by State 

 
Digital Childhood Alliance, 2025       
light blue = recent legislation, dark blue = n/a 

Considerations for Delaware 
Legislators 

• Creating a Task Force. Delaware 

legislators can consider creating a task 

force exploring the feasibility of app store 

accountability legislation, or alternative 

methods of protecting minors online. 

• Introducing Legislation. Legislators may 

consider implementing a bill like Utah’s, 

requiring social media companies, app 

stores, or app developers to verify user 

age or otherwise protect minors online.  

Additional Resources 

• The National Conference of State 

Legislature’s report on the measures each 

state took in 2024 to protect children 

while using the internet and internet-

based communication. 

• This POLITICO article on ties between 

social media use and mental health. 

• This research article from December 

2023 finds social media platforms are in 

need of greater transparency, and calls for 

regulation of potentially harmful 

adverting practices that exploit children. 

 

https://legis.delaware.gov/BillDetail?LegislationId=78981
https://legis.delaware.gov/BillDetail?LegislationId=78981
https://custom.statenet.com/public/resources.cgi?mode=show_text&id=ID:bill:DE2023010H265&verid=DE2023010H265_20230901_0_I&
https://www.ncsl.org/technology-and-communication/social-media-and-children-2023-legislation
https://www.ncsl.org/technology-and-communication/social-media-and-children-2023-legislation
https://www.ncsl.org/technology-and-communication/social-media-and-children-2023-legislation
https://umatechnology.org/12-states-with-teens-social-media-regulation-is-yours-one-of-them/
https://www.kuer.org/politics-government/2025-03-06/utah-is-the-1st-state-to-pass-a-bill-requiring-app-stores-to-verify-ages
https://www.kuer.org/politics-government/2025-03-06/utah-is-the-1st-state-to-pass-a-bill-requiring-app-stores-to-verify-ages
https://www.npr.org/2023/03/24/1165975112/utah-passes-an-age-verification-law-for-anyone-using-social-media
https://www.npr.org/2023/03/24/1165975112/utah-passes-an-age-verification-law-for-anyone-using-social-media
https://www.aclu.org/press-releases/free-speech-coalition-urges-supreme-court-to-strike-down-texas-unconstitutional-age-verification-law
https://www.ncsl.org/technology-and-communication/social-media-and-children-2024-legislation
https://www.politico.com/news/2024/01/13/kids-online-states-social-media-00135390
https://journals.plos.org/plosone/article?id=10.1371/journal.pone.0295337

