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OVERVIEW

Tipped employees, defined under the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA)! as employees who receive
more than $30 a month in tips, play a critical role in our economy. According to estimates from the Budget
Lab at Yale, tipped employees make up 2% of the labor force in the U.S.2 or 4 million workers in tipped
occupations in 2023. In 2023, tipped employees earned an average of $538 weeKkly (inclusive of tips) while
non-tipped workers earned on average $1,000 weekly. The difference in weekly pay between tipped and
non-tipped employees’ rests on a myriad of factors with the most consequential being income instability.

Income instability faced by tipped employees arises from the structure or system governing how
tipped employees are paid, which varies across states and, in some cases (New York), even between
counties. In Delaware, tipped employees are paid a subminimum wage of $2.23 per hour. The subminimum
wage is a rate set by the state which is below the federal or state minimum wage. Under this structure, it is
assumed that consumers will cover the difference to set employees at, or over, the minimum wage set by
the state or federal wage. When tipped employees do not earn at or over the minimum wage set by the
state, the employer is mandated to makeup the difference.

Proponents for this income structure contend that this guarantees that tipped employees will make
at or over the minimum wage as non-tipped employees. Additionally, proponents argue that the
subminimum wage helps increase employment for tipped workers and allows restaurants and other tipped
occupational industries to remain within budget constraints, given their narrow profit margins. However,
advocates that call for a phase out of the subminimum wage or entirely eliminating this income structure
for tipped employees argue that tipped employees are at risk and unfairly vulnerable to fluctuations in
customer generosity, and that gratuity received from customers often varies across different tipped
occupations, seasons, and even working hours. Furthermore, advocates also point to the increase in the
standard of living and inflation for reasons to increase the stagnant 34 years old federal subminimum wage
(established in 1991 federally and 1989 in Delaware).

There are currently 19 states with a minimum wage of $7.25, of these states, 13 have a subminimum
wage of $2.13. Delaware’s minimum wage was recently increased to $15.00, however, Delaware’s
subminimum wage is only 10 cents higher than the federal subminimum wage of $2.13. Delaware
legislators could consider policy approaches to address this disparity by either increasing the subminimum
wage, phasing out the subminimum wage, or creating exemptions for certain employers based on gross
revenue or number of employees.

1 Establishes federal minimum wage, overtime pay and sets employment standards among setting other labor regulations.
2 The “No Tax on Tips Act”: Background on Tipped Workers | The Budget Lab at Yale
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https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-29/subtitle-B/chapter-V/subchapter-A/part-531/subpart-D
https://dol.ny.gov/minimum-wage-0
https://epionline.org/app/uploads/2022/07/220502_EPI_Study_NeumarkTippedWorkers.pdf
https://www.americanprogress.org/article/ending-tipped-minimum-wage-will-reduce-poverty-inequality/
https://legis.delaware.gov/SessionLaws/Chapter?id=21947
https://www.dol.gov/agencies/whd/state/minimum-wage/tipped#10
https://budgetlab.yale.edu/news/240624/no-tax-tips-act-background-tipped-workers

STATE’S SUBMINIMUM WAGE COMPARED TO STATE MINIMUM WAGE 3

Delaware is the only state with a statewide minimum wage of
$15.00 that offers a subminimum wage less than $3.00.

*All with a subminimum wage of $2.13, Alabama, Georgia, Indiana, Kansas, Louisiana, Mississippi, Merth Carolina, South
Caroling, Tennesses, Texas, Utah, Wyoming, Oklahoma, Nebraska, Virginia
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ADVANTAGES OF CHANGING
SuBMINIMUM WAGE

Better aligns Delaware’s subminimum wage
with neighboring states. Maryland, New Jersey,
Pennsylvania, Washington, D.C., currently have a
higher subminimum wage than Delaware.

Provides income security for tipped
employees. According to the MIT living wage
calculator, the living wage in Delaware is $23.43
for one adult with zero children. Given that the
poverty rate for tipped employees, 10.3%, is
more than double the rate of workers overall,
this would ensure tipped workers have a more
stable income.

In One Fair Wage States4, states that pay tipped
workers the regular state minimum wage,
compared to states with a subminimum wage of
$2.13, median earnings for tipped workers are
more than $7,000 higher, and poverty rates for
tipped workers overall are more than 30%

lower.

CHALLENGES OF CHANGING
SuBMINIMUM WAGE

Stakeholder opposition. The National
Restaurant Association (NRA) opposes increases

3 Minimum Wages for Ti

to the subminimum wage, arguing that despite a
recent wage increase among restaurants to
attract employees, “many restaurants are not
recruiting or bringing back new talent.” In
addition, the NRA argues that tipped servers take
home a median of $27 an hour on a national
level.

CONSIDERATIONS FOR DELAWARE
LEGISLATORS

Aligning policy with Delaware’s tipped
workforce and industries. Delaware legislators
can take various policy approaches that address
the disparities associated with the current tipped
wage structure while also safeguarding small
business that could be impacted as a result of a
change in the subminimum wage.

Ohio sets a subminimum wage of $5.35 for
employers with annual gross receipts of
$394,000 or more and $7.25 state minimum
wage for employers with less than $394,000 in
annual gross receipts.

New Jersey sets a minimum wage of $14.53 per
hour for employers who employ fewer than 6
people and employees engaged in seasonal
employment.

ed Employees | U.S. Department of Labor

4 Alaska, California, Minnesota, Montana, Nevada, Oregon, Washington
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https://livingwage.mit.edu/states/10
https://livingwage.mit.edu/states/10
https://nwlc.org/wp-content/uploads/2024/06/Tipped-Workers-FS-2024.6.12v1.pdf
https://nwlc.org/wp-content/uploads/2024/06/Tipped-Workers-FS-2024.6.12v1.pdf
https://nwlc.org/wp-content/uploads/2024/06/Tipped-Workers-FS-2024.6.12v1.pdf
https://restaurant.org/issues-and-advocacy/policy-agenda/wage-and-tipping/
https://restaurant.org/issues-and-advocacy/policy-agenda/wage-and-tipping/
https://www.dol.gov/agencies/whd/state/minimum-wage/tipped#2
https://restaurant.org/issues-and-advocacy/policy-agenda/tipping/

