Rep. Kowalko & Rep. Osienski & Rep. Baumbach & Rep. Minor-Brown & Sen. Sokola

Reps. Bolden, Briggs King, Bush, Carson, Cooke, Dukes, Gray, Griffith, Heffernan, Hensley, K. Johnson, Lambert, Longhurst, Lynn, Mitchell, Morris, Postles, Ramone, Schwartzkopf, D. Short, Shupe, Michael Smith, Smyk, Spiegelman, Vanderwende, K. Williams, Yearick; Sens. Bonini, Brown, Ennis, Gay, Hansen, Hocker, Lawson, Lockman, Lopez, Mantzavinos, S. McBride, Paradee, Pettyjohn, Pinkney, Poore, Richardson, Sturgeon, Townsend, Walsh, Wilson





WHEREAS, after World War II, post-war international security order has relied upon diplomacy, peace, and open communication over armed conflict to ensure prosperity and stability for over 1 billion people for more than 70 years; and

WHEREAS, after the collapse of the Soviet Union, the Ukrainian people voted overwhelmingly to form a sovereign nation independent from the Russian Federation (“Russia”), building a democracy grounded in the rule of law; and

WHEREAS, in 2014, the protest movement in Ukraine led to the resignation of authoritarian president Viktor Yanukovych, a brutal ally of Russian Federation President Vladimir Putin, and the Ukrainian people democratically elected leaders who have sought closer ties to the European Union and the United States; and

WHEREAS, in 2014, Russia annexed territory from Ukraine, that not only usurped the free will of the Ukrainian people, but instigated a deadly separatist war in Eastern Ukraine that Russia has supported and supplied, resulting in the destabilization of the region and the deaths of thousands of civilians; and

WHEREAS, President Putin intentionally and repeatedly lied about the potential threat to Russia from the Ukraine, to the people of Russia, and to the world, creating a false pretext to invade and occupy Ukraine; and

WHEREAS, under President Putin, Russia has intentionally violated international peace and security agreements that sought a peaceful solution in Eastern Ukraine, and instead, amassed hundreds of thousands of troops on Ukraine's border; and

WHEREAS, President Putin has now launched an unjust and unprovoked invasion upon the sovereign nation of Ukraine; and

WHEREAS, Russian soldiers have invaded Ukraine, and are currently inflicting terror and death upon millions of civilians and destroying homes, businesses, and properties; and

WHEREAS, Ukraine is a proud, honorable and sovereign nation under siege, and the brutality of this unnecessary and violent war is an affront to both international law and common decency; and

WHEREAS, President Putin has consistently attempted to destabilize countries across Europe and to interfere in other countries' elections and democracies, including the United States; and

WHEREAS, the United States has led the international community, including our allies, in imposing the strongest possible sanctions on Russia and its financial institutions in response to this invasion of Ukraine; and

WHEREAS, Delaware is home to thousands of Ukrainian Americans, and thousands of citizens, who stand strongly in support of the Ukrainian people; and

WHEREAS, Ukraine has earned the support of every American, and the entire international community, as it defends itself from this unprovoked invasion by Russia.


BE IT RESOLVED by the House of Representatives of the 151st General Assembly of the State of Delaware, the Senate concurring therein, that the General Assembly proudly stands with Ukraine, and its people, during this unjustified and unprovoked war and vow to support Ukraine and hold the Russian Federation (“Russia”) fully accountable for its decision to invade.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the General Assembly condemns, in the strongest possible terms, President Putin's violent and terroristic attack on the people of Ukraine, and strongly support the swift and severe economic sanctions and stringent export controls that President Biden's administration has imposed on Russia.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the General Assembly demands that Russia immediately cease its violent, illegal, and immoral assault upon the sovereign nation of Ukraine, end this bloody incursion, and return to diplomacy and the rules-based international order that has ensured peace and prosperity for so many.


This Resolution expresses the General Assembly's strong support for Ukraine in its war against the invasion by the Russian Federation (“Russia”) and for the severe economic sanctions imposed on Russia by President Biden's administration. This Resolution further demands that Russia immediately cease its violent, illegal, and immoral assault on the sovereign nation of Ukraine.