

SPONSOR: Rep. K. Williams on behalf of all Representatives & Sen. Sturgeon on behalf of all Senators

## HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES 151st GENERAL ASSEMBLY

## HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 80

## COMMENDING JAHSHA TABRON REPRESENTING THE BRANDYWINE SCHOOL DISTRICT FOR BEING SELECTED AS DELAWARE'S STATE TEACHER OF THE YEAR FOR 2022 AND COMMENDING EACH SCHOOL DISTRICT'S TEACHER OF THE YEAR.

1	WHEREAS, more than 10,000 teachers work each day with more than 140,000 children who attend 250 public
2	schools in 19 school districts and 23 charter schools; and
3	WHEREAS, teachers strive for excellence in their profession when they know that the community supports them
4	and appreciates their efforts on behalf of our children; and
5	WHEREAS, the Teacher of the Year program identifies building and district representatives who embody the best
6	qualities of all Delaware teachers; and
7	WHEREAS, the Delaware State Teacher of the Year is chosen for possessing a superior ability to inspire and
8	nurture students with a love of learning and for having won the admiration and respect of fellow teachers, school
9	administrators, and the parents of students; and
10	WHEREAS, Jahsha Tabron of Brandywine High School in the Brandywine School District has been named
11	Delaware State Teacher of the Year for 2022, as part of the National Teacher of the Year program— the oldest and most
12	prestigious award program that focuses public attention on excellence in teaching; and
13	WHEREAS, each of the other eighteen school districts has chosen a 2022 District Teacher of the Year, namely:
14	Appoquinimink: Amanda Binkley of Odessa High (engineering and computer science)
15	Brandywine: Jahsha Tabron of Brandywine High (special education)
16	Caesar Rodney: Karine Scott of Simpson Elementary (physical education)
17	Cape Henlopen: Maura Johnson of Shields Elementary (third grade)
18	Capital: Morgan Jewell of Hartly Elementary (kindergarten)
19	Charter Network: Diana Magaña of Las Américas ASPIRA Academy (third grade Spanish immersion)
20	Christina: Carla Probst of Downes Elementary (fourth grade)
21	Colonial: Robert Poore of Southern Elementary (physical education)
22	Delmar: Sonja Warner of Delmar High (mathematics)
23	Indian River: Haley Mears of East Millsboro Elementary (special education)

24	Lake Forest: Clarence "Clay" F. Beauchamp II of Lake Forest South Elementary (kindergarten)
25	Laurel: Jessica Pajda of Laurel High (social studies)
26	Milford: Sarah Simon of Morris Early Childhood Center (kindergarten)
27	New Castle County Vo-Tech: Dustin Craighton of St. Georges Technical High (science)
28	POLYTECH: Debra Castille-Hall of POLYTECH High (English)
29	Red Clay Consolidated: Matthew Marion of Linden Hill Elementary (music)
30	Seaford: Melissa Pinkerton of Seaford High (English)
31	Smyrna: Lauren Mohamed of Sunnyside Elementary (music)
32	Sussex Tech: Stephanie Pegelow of Sussex Technical High (English)
33	Woodbridge: Kira Wagar of Woodbridge High (English)
34	NOW, THEREFORE:
35	BE IT RESOLVED by the Senate of the 151st General Assembly of the State of Delaware, the House of
36	Representatives concurring therein, that the Members do hereby commend Jahsha Tabron for the well-deserved designation
37	as 2022 Delaware State Teacher of the Year.
38	BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the entire membership of the Delaware General Assembly does hereby extend
39	heartfelt gratitude to Jahsha Tabron, Delaware State Teacher of the Year, and to each of the fellow District Teachers of the
40	Year for 2022, for their many contributions to the betterment of education in Delaware.
41	BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that suitably prepared copies of this Senate Concurrent Resolution be presented to
42	Jahsha Tabron and each of the District Teachers of the Year. <u>SYNOPSIS</u>

This Concurrent Resolution commends the 2022 Delaware State Teacher of the Year, Jahsha Tabron, and all of the District Teachers of the Year.