

SPONSOR: Sen. Gay & Sen. Brown & Rep. Griffith
Sens. Hoffner, S. McBride, Pettyjohn, Sturgeon,
Townsend, Walsh; Reps. Baumbach, Briggs King, Cooke,
K. Johnson, S. Moore, Morrison, Romer, Michael Smith,

DELAWARE STATE SENATE 152nd GENERAL ASSEMBLY

SENATE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 34

CONGRATULATING THE WINNERS OF THE 32ND ANNUAL DELAWARE HIGH SCHOOL MOCK TRIAL PROGRAM.

1	WHEREAS, over 200 students from public, private, parochial, and charter schools throughout Delaware
2	comprised 18 teams that participated in the 2023 Delaware High School Mock Trial Competition; and
3	WHEREAS, the competition took place over two days on February 24 and 25, 2023; and
4	WHEREAS, for the first time since 2020, the competition was held at the Leonard L. Williams Justice Center; and
5	WHEREAS, the 2023 Mock Trial Committee organized the case material and coordinated the competition; and
6	WHEREAS, the event was sponsored by the Delaware Law Related Education Center, Inc., and made possible du
7	to the time and effort of many volunteers; and
8	WHEREAS, the competition provides a valuable civic learning experience to all who participate; and
9	WHEREAS, teams make opening statements, make closing arguments, question mock witnesses and experts, and
10	must argue both sides of the case; and
11	WHEREAS, teams are judged on presentation of the case facts and knowledge of the law; and
12	WHEREAS, for the first time in the competition's history this year, the final championship round was judged by
13	an all-female judging panel of the Delaware Bench and Bar, including Presiding Judge Tamika Montgomery-Reeves of the
14	Third Circuit, Judge Maryellen Noreika of the District of Delaware, President Judge Jan Jurden of the Delaware Superior
15	Court, Delaware State Court Administrator Gayle P. Lafferty, and Delaware State Senator Kyle Gay.
16	NOW THEREFORE:
17	BE IT RESOLVED that the Senate of the 152nd General Assembly of the State of Delaware, the House of
18	Representatives concurring therein, congratulates the winners of the competition from the Charter School of Wilmington
19	and wishes them much success as they represent Delaware in the National High School Mock Trial Championship this
20	May.

Page 1 of 2

Released: 04/19/2023 12:10 PM SD: AVP: ALW 2711520022

21	BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the runners up – the Wilmington Friends School (second place), Cape
22	Henlopen High School (third place), Archmere Academy (fourth place), and Tower Hill School (fifth place) – are all
23	hereby recognized.
24	BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Senate congratulates Jace Walker of Archmere Academy who won the
25	courtroom artist competition and wishes her much success as she represents Delaware in the national competition in May.
26	BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that Audrey Pachuta of Ursuline Academy is also recognized as the winner of the
27	first-in-Delaware courtroom journalist contest.
28	BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that students from Cape Henlopen High School and Salesianum School who
29	formed a "bye-buster" team the morning of the first day of the competition in order to have an even number of teams are
30	commended for winning the Delaware Way Award, given to the team that best exemplifies the ideals of mock trial,
31	including civility, justice, and fairness.

SYNOPSIS

This resolution congratulates the winning teams from the 2023 Delaware High School Mock Trial Program.

Author: Senator Gay

Page 2 of 2 Released: 04/19/2023 12:10 PM