

SPONSOR: Rep. Lynn & Rep. Bush & Rep. Carson & Rep. Harris & Rep. Morris & Rep. Shupe & Rep. Spiegelman & Sen. Paradee & Sen. Buckson & Sen. Hoffner & Sen. Lawson & Sen. Wilson & Sen. Pettyjohn Reps. Briggs King, Cooke, Dukes, Gray, S. Moore, Neal, Postles, Ramone, D. Short, Vanderwende; Sens. Hansen, Hocker

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES 152nd GENERAL ASSEMBLY

HOUSE BILL NO. 135

AN ACT TO AMEND TITLE 10 OF THE DELAWARE CODE RELATING TO THE SUPREME COURT.

BE IT ENACTED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF DELAWARE:

1 Section 1. Amend Chapter 1, Title 10 of the Delaware Code by making deletions as shown by strike through and

- 2 insertions as shown by underline as follows:
- 3 §102A. Residence of Justices.
- 4 (a) The Court shall consist of 5 Justices.
- 5 (b) At least 2 Justices shall be residents of New Castle County, at least 1 Justice shall be a resident of Kent
- 6 County, and at least 1 Justice shall be a resident of Sussex County.

SYNOPSIS

This bill requires that of the five Justices appointed to the Supreme Court, at least one is a resident of Kent County, at least one is a resident of Sussex County and at least two are residents of New Castle County.