

SPONSOR: Rep. K. Williams on behalf of all Representatives & Sen. Sturgeon on behalf of all Senators

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES 152nd GENERAL ASSEMBLY

HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 45

COMMENDING ASHLEY LOCKWOOD REPRESENTING THE MILFORD SCHOOL DISTRICT FOR BEING SELECTED AS DELAWARE'S STATE TEACHER OF THE YEAR FOR 2023 AND COMMENDING EACH SCHOOL DISTRICT'S TEACHER OF THE YEAR.

1	WHEREAS, more than 10,000 teachers work each day with more than 140,000 children who attend 250 public
2	schools in 19 school districts and 23 charter schools; and
3	WHEREAS, teachers strive for excellence in their profession when they know that the community supports them
4	and appreciates their efforts on behalf of our children; and
5	WHEREAS, the Teacher of the Year program identifies building and district representatives who embody the best
6	qualities of all Delaware teachers; and
7	WHEREAS, the Delaware State Teacher of the Year is chosen for possessing a superior ability to inspire and
8	nurture students with a love of learning and for having won the admiration and respect of fellow teachers, school
9	administrators, and the parents of students; and
10	WHEREAS, Ashley Lockwood of the Milford School District has been named Delaware State Teacher of the Year
11	for 2023, as part of the National Teacher of the Year program— the oldest and most prestigious award program that focuses
12	public attention on excellence in teaching; and
13	WHEREAS, each of the other eighteen school districts has chosen a 2023 District Teacher of the Year, namely:
14	Appoquinimink: Elizabeth Kelly Koch of Redding Middle (American sign language)
15	Brandywine: Uchechi Amudipe of Concord High (career and technical education)
16	Caesar Rodney: Missy Snyder of Welch Elementary (second grade)
17	Cape Henlopen: Rony Flechier of Cape Henlopen High (mathematics)
18	Capital: Amy Bowen of North Dover Elementary (fourth grade)
19	Charter Network: Daniel Primiani of Academia Antonia Alonso (social studies)
20	Christina: Jennifer Cohen of the Brennen School (special education)
21	Colonial: Beth Twardus of McCullough Middle (mathematics)
22	Delmar: Mary Pierce-Cass of Delmar High (science)
23	Indian River: Jennah Truitt of Lord Baltimore Elementary (kindergarten)
	Page 1 of 2 HD : NSW : MAW Palensed: 05/00/2022, 08:52 AM

- 24 Lake Forest: Lindsey Saxton of Lake Forest High (agricultural science)
- 25 Laurel: Erin Razzano of Laurel Middle (English language arts)
- 26 Milford: Ashley Lockwood of Lulu Ross Elementary (fifth grade)
- 27 New Castle County Vo-Tech: Greta K. Humphrey of Delcastle Technical High (special education)
- 28 POLYTECH: Amanda Waggoner of POLYTECH High (Spanish)
- 29 Red Clay Consolidated: Terri T. Pruitt of Cab Calloway School of the Arts (English language arts)
- 30 Seaford: Kiara Briggs of Blades Elementary (kindergarten)
- 31 Smyrna: Lindsey Alexitch of Smyrna High (social studies)
- 32 Sussex Tech: Matthew Lewis of Sussex Technical High (social studies)
- 33 Woodbridge: Sarah (Burress) Micciche of Phillis Wheatley Elementary (fourth grade)
- 34 NOW, THEREFORE:
- 35 BE IT RESOLVED by the House of Representatives of the 152nd General Assembly of the State of Delaware, the
- 36 Senate concurring therein, that the Members do hereby commend Ashley Lockwood for the well-deserved designation as
- 37 2023 Delaware State Teacher of the Year.
- 38 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the entire membership of the Delaware General Assembly does hereby extend
- 39 heartfelt gratitude to Ashley Lockwood, Delaware State Teacher of the Year, and to each of the fellow District Teachers of
- 40 the Year for 2023, for their many contributions to the betterment of education in Delaware.
- 41 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that suitably prepared copies of this House Concurrent Resolution be presented to Ashley
- 42 Lockwood and each of the District Teachers of the Year.

SYNOPSIS

This Concurrent Resolution commends the 2023 Delaware State Teacher of the Year, Ashley Lockwood, and all of the District Teachers of the Year.