

SPONSOR: Rep. Schwartzkopf & Rep. Longhurst & Rep. Viola & Rep. D. Short & Rep. Hudson on behalf of all Representatives & Sen. McBride & Sen. Henry & Sen. Poore & Sen. Simpson & Sen. Lavelle on behalf of all Senators

## HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES 149th GENERAL ASSEMBLY

## HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 45

HONORING THE YOUNG WOMEN FROM ACROSS THE STATE OF DELAWARE PARTICIPATING IN THE 2017 SESSION OF DELAWARE GIRLS STATE.

1	WHEREAS, during the week of June 18, 2017, young women from across the State of Delaware, students at the
2	State's public and private high schools, come to Legislative Hall in Dover to participate in the 2017 session of Delaware
3	Girls State; and
4	WHEREAS, during their stay here, these young women will receive valuable hands-on training and experience in
5	the legislative process and the ways of State government, which will serve them in good stead in their later lives; and
6	WHEREAS, the experience they receive during Girls State will prove especially useful to those among their
7	number who go on to assume leadership roles in government or seek elective office in the future; and
8	WHEREAS, the participants in Delaware Girls State have, during their session, elected from among their ranks a
9	Governor, a Lieutenant Governor, a Secretary of State, an Attorney General, a State Treasurer, a State Auditor, a State
10	Insurance Commissioner, a Secretary of Education and leaders of both houses of the General Assembly; and
11	WHEREAS, the young women participating in the 2017 session of Girls State include:
12	Shannon Ward of A.I. duPont High School
13	Grace Ly of Appoquinimink High School
14	Grace Zhang of Archmere Academy
15	Sachi Shetty of Cab Calloway of the Arts
16	Kaitlyn Smith of Cab Calloway of the Arts
17	Maya Nona-Sinkam of Cab Calloway of the Arts
18	Cullen Kisner of Caesar Rodney High School
19	Madison Cook of Caesar Rodney High School
20	Eryne Jenkins of Caesar Rodney High School
21	Florin Faud of Caesar Rodney High School
22	Ella Wisniewski of Caesar Rodney High School

Page 1 of 4

LC: MJC: RAY 1901490088

23	Alyssa Spell of Cape Henlopen High School
24	Esly Marin-Landa of Cape Henlopen High School
25	Atonia Panchoo of Cape Henlopen High School
26	Rachel Carlton of Carvel Academy
27	Domenica Proud of Charter School of Wilmington
28	Swati Batchu of Charter School of Wilmington
29	Kelsey McRae of Concord High School
30	Molly Meinecke of Concord High School
31	Millicent Ayako of Conrad Schools of Science
32	Brianna Bryson of Conrad Schools of Science
33	Nicole Kennedy of Conrad Schools of Science
34	Danajza Wilmore of Delaware Academy of Public Safety & Security
35	Jacqueline Gutierrez of Delcastle Technical High School
36	Maria Morelli of Delmar High School
37	Vasmi Patel of Delmar High School
38	Elise Buonopane of Delaware Military Academy
39	Kathryn Certesio of Delaware Military Academy
40	Lauren Bell of Delaware Military Academy
41	Brittney Rosello of Dover High School
42	Taylor Purner of Dover High School
43	Kaitly Madron of Hodgson Vocational Technical High School
44	Jessyca Flores of Hodgson Vocational Technical High School
45	Rawan Gherasim of Middletown High School
46	Jennifer Beck of Middletown High School
47	Ashley Raborg of Middletown High School
48	Oluwadamilola Akinbayo of Middletown High School
49	Hollan Brockenbrough of Mt. Pleasant High School
50	Lillian Peterson of Newark Charter High School
51	Vyshnavi Kosigishroff of Newark Charter High School
52	Natalie Nwanekwu of Newark Charter High School

Released: 06/22/2017 09:27 AM

53	Leah Somerville of Sanford High School
54	Elizabeth Vander Laan of Sanford High School
55	Elizabeth Cataldi of Seaford High School
56	Kaitlyn Dimes of Seaford High School
57	Emily King of Seaford High School
58	Hannah Henderson of Seaford High School
59	Casey Berchtold of Smyrna High School
60	Nikki Pratt of Smyrna High School
61	Laurel Hossler of Smyrna High School
62	Callie Keen of Smyrna High School
63	Cassidy Cook of Smyrna High School
64	Mary Kegelman of St. Elizabeth's High School
65	Emily Smith of St. Elizabeth's High School
66	Claudia Roncone of St. Elizabeth's High School
67	Kala Richardson of St. Marks High School
68	Mollie Russell of St. Marks High School
69	Nicole Pinera of St. Thomas More Academy
70	Mary McArtor of St. Thomas More Academy
71	Sophia Stafford of St. Thomas More Academy
72	Tessa Elling of Sussex Academy
73	Arely Hernandez-Mejia of Sussex Central High School
74	Hope Craig of Sussex Technical High School
75	Amy Craft of Sussex Technical High School
76	Ashley Hangstefer of Sussex Technical High School
77	Kathleen Saxon of Sussex Technical High School
78	Alexis Young of Ursuline Academy
79	Issela Rios of Wilmington Friends School
80	Olivia O'Donnell of Wilmington Friends School
81	Kennedy Butch of Indian River High School
82	Isabel Wolfenbarger of Indian River High School

Released: 06/22/2017 09:27 AM

83	WHEREAS, during their week-long session these young women will learn many of the details of the process
84	whereby a bill becomes a law, and debate and discuss many issues both timely and of great importance to the State of
85	Delaware; and
86	WHEREAS, throughout the week the Girls State delegates will be deeply involved in a study of such subjects as
87	conduct of elections, the operation for the legislative caucus and committee systems, majority and minority positions, and
88	many other aspects of the political process, all of which will give them valuable knowledge of the manner in which the
89	American system of representative democracy operates; and
90	WHEREAS, the American Legion Auxiliary Department of Delaware has once again sponsored this important
91	educational program, as it has done for many years, thereby displaying a deep dedication to the American system of
92	government and to the essential task of ensuring that our youth understand and appreciate that system;

NOW, THEREFORE:

93

94

95

96

97

98

99

100

101

102

103

104

105

BE IT RESOLVED by the House of Representatives of the 149<sup>th</sup> General Assembly of the State of Delaware, the Senate thereof concurring therein, that its members do hereby commend each of the participants in the 2017 Girls State session for their hard work and extend to each sincere congratulations on a very successful session at Legislative Hall.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the members of the House of Representatives and the Senate do hereby extend to every participant sincere best wishes for success in all future endeavors, together with the hope that at least a few of these fine young Delawareans may one day find themselves again in the House or Senate chamber as duly elected representatives of their fellow citizens.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the members of the House of Representatives and the Senate do hereby commend and thank the American Legion Auxiliary Department of Delaware for its sponsorship of this outstanding program.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that copies of this Resolution shall be presented to each of the delegates of the 2017 Session of Girls State, and to the sponsor of the event, the American Legion Auxiliary Department of Delaware.

## **SYNOPSIS**

This concurrent resolution recognizes and honors the young women of Delaware participating in the 2017 session of Delaware Girls State.

LC: MJC: RAY 1901490088