

SPONSOR: Rep. Jaques on behalf of all Representatives & Sen. Sokola on behalf of all Senators

## HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES 149th GENERAL ASSEMBLY

## HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 74

## COMMENDING THE STUDENTS SELECTED AS SECRETARY OF EDUCATION SCHOLARS FOR 2018.

1	WHEREAS, the progress, prosperity, and tranquility of all states and nations depends upon the successful
2	education of their citizens and upon the wise and informed leadership those citizens can then provide; and
3	WHEREAS, promoting and rewarding intellectual distinction among our young people ranks as a prime concern
4	of our state; and
5	WHEREAS, students from Delaware public high schools have been identified for their distinguished academic
6	achievement and for their leadership in statewide organizations; and
7	WHEREAS, their accomplishments reflect with great favor upon the skilled work of Delaware educators and upon
8	the generous support these students have received from their relatives, friends, and neighbors; and
9	WHEREAS, the people of Delaware take pride in the accomplishments of these students, whose discipline,
10	maturity, and diligence have enabled them to make full use of their native gifts; and
11	WHEREAS, such public recognition will encourage all students to strive to develop fully and ensure the prosperity
12	of the state as well as the personal enrichment of their lives.
13	NOW, THEREFORE:
14	BE IT RESOLVED that the House of Representatives of the 149th General Assembly of the State of Delaware, the
15	Senate concurring therein, commends and extends its best wishes for continued success to those students chosen as
16	Secretary of Education Scholars for 2018, namely:
17	Appoquinimink School District: Caelan Brooks, Bright Lu, and Evan Rosario, Appoquinimink High School; Rajan
18	Mann, Timothy Mulderrig, and Ryan Singh, Middletown High School;
19	Brandywine School District: Sylwia Pietrzak and Grace Ruoff, Brandywine High School; Sabrina Jaw and Connor
20	Wagaman, Concord High School; Julia Simmons and Emily Zheng, Mount Pleasant High School;
21	Caesar Rodney School District: Nicholas Doak, Jessica Goldschlager, and Stephanie Horne, Caesar Rodney High
22	School;
23	Capital School District: Adriana Kwok, Hayley Scheir, and Katina Thongvong, Dover High School;

Page 1 of 3 HD : NSW : MAW Released: 04/18/2018 06:29 PM

HD: NSW: MAW 2141490009

24	Cape Henlopen School District: Emma Ballentine, Melanie McCloy, and Hannah Wiswell, Cape Henlopen High
25	School;
26	Christina School District: Jaden Jefferson and Ohenenana Sarfowah, Christiana High School; Carolyn Russell,
27	Delaware School for the Deaf; Brennan Gallamoza and Michael Just, Glasgow High School; Chloe Frantz and In
28	Jeong Yea, Newark High School;
29	Colonial School District: Alanna Armor, Kayla Harmon, Sean Rutor, and Krystyn Williams, William Penn High
30	School;
31	Delmar School District: Maria Morelli and Vasmi Patel, Delmar High School;
32	Indian River School District: Delaney Brannon and Priya Patel, Indian River High School; Caroline Davis, Sergio
33	Garcia-Gonzalez, and Carlynn Rodriguez-Bartolon, Sussex Central High School;
34	Lake Forest School District: Amanda Bowman and Kayla Thompson, Lake Forest High School;
35	Laurel School District: Nyra Giles and Thomas Turnbaugh, Laurel Senior High School;
36	Milford School District: Kaitlyn Cupelli and Melina Hudson, Milford Senior High School;
37	New Castle County Vo-Tech School District: Kelvin Amaya, Yara Cruz-Murillo, and Jeffrey Hewes Jr., Delcastle
38	Technical High School; Alyssa Freund and Brianna Pavkovich, Hodgson (Paul M.) Vocational Technical High
39	School; Dayonna Berryhill and Erin Chism, Howard High School of Technology; Danae Baxter and Amanda
40	Merritt, St. Georges Technical High School;
41	POLYTECH School District: Ryan Hesterman and Tyler Imprescia, POLYTECH High School;
42	Red Clay Consolidated School District: Briseida Arreole and Courtlyn Witte, A.I. duPont High School; Michael
43	Hemphill and Sachi Shetty, Cab Calloway School of the Arts; Christina Kim and Ashley Pennington, Charter
44	School of Wilmington; Kathryn Certesio and Russ Smith, Delaware Military Academy; Vasista Vovveti and
45	Heather McClure, Conrad Schools of Science; Samra Arshad and Sofia Rose, John Dickinson High School; Marie-
46	Noel Che and Richard Lopez, Thomas McKean High School;
47	Seaford School District: Kaitlyn McKinney and Jorge Mendez-Mendoza, Seaford Senior High School;
48	Smyrna School District: Samuel Mace, Kaelyn Press, and Alec Shalk, Smyrna High School;
49	Sussex Tech School District: Kaitlynn Adkins and Kira Short, Sussex Technical High School;
50	Woodbridge School District: Yasmine Signey and Aisli Torres-Landeros, Woodbridge High School;
51	Charter schools: Andrew Bullock, Delaware Academy of Public Safety and Security; Willow Bowen and
52	Christiana Malone, Early College High School at Delaware State University; Priscilla Gorman, First State Military

Page 2 of 3

HD : NSW : MAW 2141490009 Released: 04/18/2018 06:29 PM

53	Academy; Michael Chen and Tanvi Venkatesh, Newark Charter School; Jemma Given, Positive Outcomes
54	Charter School; Mia Kwan, Sussex Academy of Arts and Sciences.
55	BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that copies of this resolution be sent to the Secretary of Education for distribution
56	to the students chosen for this special honor.

## **SYNOPSIS**

This Concurrent Resolution commends and congratulates the Secretary of Education Scholars for 2018.

Page 3 of 3 : NSW : MAW Released: 04/18/2018 06:29 PM

HD: NSW: MAW 2141490009