

SPONSOR: Rep. K. Williams on behalf of all Representatives & Sen. Sturgeon on behalf of all Senators

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES 151st GENERAL ASSEMBLY

HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 36

COMMENDING THE STUDENTS SELECTED AS SECRETARY OF EDUCATION SCHOLARS FOR 2020.

1	WHEREAS, the progress, prosperity, and tranquility of all states and nations depends upon the successful
2	education of their citizens and upon the wise and informed leadership those citizens can then provide; and
3	WHEREAS, promoting and rewarding intellectual distinction among our young people ranks as a prime concern
4	of our state; and
5	WHEREAS, students from Delaware public high schools have been identified for their distinguished academic
6	achievement and for their leadership in statewide organizations; and
7	WHEREAS, their accomplishments reflect with great favor upon the skilled work of Delaware educators and upon
8	the generous support these students have received from their relatives, friends, and neighbors; and
9	WHEREAS, the people of Delaware take pride in the accomplishments of these students, whose discipline,
10	maturity, and diligence have enabled them to make full use of their native gifts; and
11	WHEREAS, such public recognition will encourage all students to strive to develop fully and ensure the prosperity
12	of the state as well as the personal enrichment of their lives.
13	NOW, THEREFORE:
14	BE IT RESOLVED that the House of Representatives of the 151st General Assembly of the State of Delaware, the
15	Senate concurring therein, commends and extends its best wishes for continued success to those students chosen as
16	Secretary of Education Scholars for 2020, namely:
17	Appoquinimink School District: Lauren Haskell, Shreya Mehta, Dennis Mirza, Appoquinimink High School;
18	Shreya Bathula, Cameron Emmett, Olivia Lopez, Middletown High School;
19	Brandywine School District: Eliana Baker, Megan Stoklosa, Brandywine High School; Sam Oberly, Katie Raab,
20	Concord High School; Isabella Adler, Allison Rodi, Mount Pleasant High School;
21	Caesar Rodney School District: Keely Arndt, Evan Cheng, Peyton Easton, Kurt Florez, Caesar Rodney High
22	School;
23	Cape Henlopen School District: Madeline Betts, Mackenzie Irelan, Anna Stancofski, Cape Henlopen High School;
24	Capital School District: Ashlyn Darling, Danielle Doyle, Julius Snipes, Dover High School;

Page 1 of 2 Released: 06/23/2021 06:28 PM HD: NSW: MAW

2141510357

25	Christina School District: Oluebube Akujieze, Kate Dawson, Christiana High School; Megan Hopkins, Delaware
26	School for the Deaf; Connor Hartland, Alemeshet Rediate, Glasgow High School; Nathaniel Catts, Clay Wilfong, Newark
27	High School;
28	Colonial School District: Urooj Ahmed, Arriana Bisram, Rachel Gray, Jay Patel, William Penn High School;
29	Delmar School District: David Koval and Shiv Patel, Delmar High School;
30	Indian River School District: Kaila McCabe and Maddison Olley, Indian River High School; Jenna Anger, Emma
31	Evan, and Brandon Greenlee, Sussex Central High School;
32	Lake Forest School District: Jacob Adkins and Maci Carter, Lake Forest High School;
33	Laurel School District: James Ellison and Leah Miller, Laurel Senior High School;
34	Milford School District: Kally Bennett and Moses Martinez, Milford Senior High School;
35	New Castle County Vocational Technical School District: Misael Campos, Cameron Greene, and Sabrina Ratliff,
36	Delcastle Technical High School; Adan Rivera Gomez and Stephanie Santiago-Limon, Paul M. Hodgson Vocational
37	Technical High School; Alexus Frisby and Yoseline Rios-Saldivar, Howard High School of Technology; Joseph Ayako and
38	Regis Puebla, St. Georges Technical High School;
39	POLYTECH School District: Jordyn Jacobson and Emma Zeitler, POLYTECH High School;
10	Red Clay Consolidated School District: Talia Collier and Christian Rullan-Crespo, A.I. duPont High School;
11	Sophia Block and Jessica Smith, Cab Calloway School of the Arts; Victoria Brown and Sofia Henriquez, Conrad Schools
12	of Science; Joshua Mortenson and Katelyn Robertson, John Dickinson High School; Janvier Green and Adriel Ramen,
13	Thomas McKean High School;
14	Seaford School District: Marley Fishburn and Megan Tran, Seaford Senior High School;
15	Smyrna School District: Mia Davis, Sarah Larose, and Leila Sebastian, Smyrna High School;
16	Sussex Technical School District: Jessica Blatzheim and Bethany Pasmore, Sussex Technical High School;
1 7	Woodbridge School District: Mackenna Kerrick and Regan Todd, Woodbridge High School;
18	State-chartered schools: Stephen Howard, Positive Outcomes Charter School; Anthony Lee and Alexander Zhu,
19	Charter School of Wilmington; Julia Bacci and Olivia Farris, Delaware Military Academy; Adebola Gbadebo and
50	Mahmoud Hamdi, Early College High School at Delaware State University; Robert Andrews, First State Military
51	Academy; Toniyah Alston, Freire Charter School; Apuroop Mutyala and Cynthia Wang, MOT Charter School; Pragyat
52	Khanal and Riya Setty, Newark Charter School; Morgan Smith, Odyssey Charter School; and Milan Patel, Sussex
53	Academy of Arts and Sciences.
	CVNODCIC

SYNOPSIS

This Concurrent Resolution commends and congratulates the Secretary of Education Scholars for 2020.

Page 2 of 2
HD : NSW : MAW Released: 06/23/2021 06:28 PM

2141510357