

SPONSOR: Rep. K. Williams on behalf of all Representatives & Sen. Sturgeon on behalf of all Senators

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES 151st GENERAL ASSEMBLY

HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 38

COMMENDING THE STUDENTS SELECTED AS SECRETARY OF EDUCATION SCHOLARS FOR 2021.

1	WHEREAS, the progress, prosperity, and tranquility of all states and nations depends upon the successful
2	education of their citizens and upon the wise and informed leadership those citizens can then provide; and
3	WHEREAS, promoting and rewarding intellectual distinction among our young people ranks as a prime concern
4	of our state; and
5	WHEREAS, students from Delaware public high schools have been identified for their distinguished academic
6	achievement and for their leadership in statewide organizations; and
7	WHEREAS, their accomplishments reflect with great favor upon the skilled work of Delaware educators and upon
8	the generous support these students have received from their relatives, friends, and neighbors; and
9	WHEREAS, the people of Delaware take pride in the accomplishments of these students, whose discipline,
10	maturity, and diligence have enabled them to make full use of their native gifts; and
11	WHEREAS, such public recognition will encourage all students to strive to develop fully and ensure the prosperity
12	of the state as well as the personal enrichment of their lives.
13	NOW, THEREFORE:
14	BE IT RESOLVED that the House of Representatives of the 151st General Assembly of the State of Delaware, the
15	Senate concurring therein, commends and extends its best wishes for continued success to those students chosen as
16	Secretary of Education Scholars for 2021, namely:
17	Appoquinimink School District: Aditya Kakade, Thomas Stewart, and Megan Tarr, Appoquinimink High School;
18	Collin Bowers, Victor Shi, and Kyle Wright, Middletown High School;
19	Brandywine School District: Madison Bradshaw and Sarah Garner, Brandywine High School; Diya Mohnot and
20	Lauren Su, Concord High School; Summiah Laviba and Olivia McVeigh, Mount Pleasant High School;
21	Caesar Rodney School District: Paxton Easton, Smith Easton, Priya Gupta, and Ashley Tedesco, Caesar Rodney
22	High School;
23	Cape Henlopen School District: Riley Keen, Riley Klopp, and Emily Monigle, Cape Henlopen High School;
24	Capital School District: Megan Chen, Julia Ilias, and Erika Synoski, Dover High School;

Christina School District: Hope Kabura and Brianna Piner, Christiana High School; Relena Kiser and Abdul
 Raheem, Glasgow High School; Altaf Bacchus and Katherine Zucaro, Newark High School;

Colonial School District: Atinuke Aliu, Jalyn Gray, Destiny Jackson, and Narra Swanson, William Penn High
 School;

29 Delmar School District: Teresa Morelli and Christine Park, Delmar High School;

- 30 Indian River School District: Declan Burke and Destin Smyth, Indian River High School; Andrea Araya, Penn
- 31 Smith, and Victor Tung, Sussex Central High School;
- 32 Lake Forest School District: Rachel Brzezicki and Brianna Riggi, Lake Forest High School;

33 Laurel School District: Heavyn Savage and Macee Turnbaugh, Laurel Senior High School;

34 Milford School District: Allison Benton and Kayla Clausen, Milford Senior High School;

New Castle County Vocational Technical School District: Kerry Ferguson, Kevin Montanez, and Stephanie Webb,
 Delcastle Technical High School; Gabriela Nieves and Austin Pflugrad, Hodgson Vocational Technical High School;
 Jaylene Nieves and Xinlei Xiao, Howard High School of Technology; Nicolas Rivera and Emma Wheat, St. Georges
 Technical High School;

39 POLYTECH School District: Cassandra Talamini-Kelemen and Dermot Williamson, POLYTECH High School;

Red Clay Consolidated School District: Varun Kulkami and Grace Wootten, A.I. duPont High School; Risha
Kumar and Daniel Lee, Cab Calloway School of the Arts; Kelly Barry and Jay Pruitt, Conrad Schools of Science; Abigail
Campion and Sarah Dilworth, John Dickinson High School; Ruby Barrera and Brittany Casalvera, Thomas McKean High
School;

- 44 Seaford School District: Jessica Castro-Sandoval and Nicholas Phillips, Seaford Senior High School;
- 45 Smyrna School District: Olivia Kelly, Marie Youngcourt, and Rachel Youngcourt, Smyrna High School;
- 46 Sussex Technical School District: Luanna Fajardo and Trent Sapna, Sussex Technical High School;

47 Woodbridge School District: Morgan Matthews and Sydney Weinkam, Woodbridge High School;

48 State-chartered schools: Darren Wu and Justin Xu, Charter School of Wilmington; Noah Cillo and Elena Rice,
 49 Delaware Military Academy; Zayna Juracka, Early College High School at Delaware State University; Ethan Tackett, First
 50 State Military Academy; Maria de los Angeles Sanchez and Mikaila Saunders, Freire Charter School; Sakhee Desai and

51 Divita Taduvayi, MOT Charter School; Megan Chen and Rohan Kanchana, Newark Charter School; Nidhi Patel, Odyssey

51 Divita Taduvayi, wor Charter School, wegan chen and Kohan Kahenana, wewark Charter School, Wahi Tater, Odyssey

52 Charter School; Elisabeth Waid, Positive Outcomes Charter School; Samantha Sordi of Sussex Academy of Arts and

53 Sciences.

<u>SYNOPSIS</u>

This Concurrent Resolution commends and congratulates the Secretary of Education Scholars for 2021.