

SPONSOR: Rep. K. Williams on behalf of all Representatives & Sen. Sturgeon on behalf of all Senators

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES 151st GENERAL ASSEMBLY

HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 35

COMMENDING REBECCA LOUISE VITELLI REPRESENTING THE COLONIAL SCHOOL DISTRICT FOR BEING SELECTED AS DELAWARE'S STATE TEACHER OF THE YEAR FOR 2020 AND COMMENDING EACH SCHOOL DISTRICT'S TEACHER OF THE YEAR.

1	WHEREAS, nearly 9,605 teachers work each day with approximately 139,144 children who attend 237 Delaware
2	public schools in 19 school districts and Charter Schools; and
3	WHEREAS, teachers strive for excellence in their profession when they know that the community supports them
4	and appreciates their efforts on behalf of our children; and
5	WHEREAS, the Teacher of the Year program identifies building and district representatives who embody the best
6	qualities of all Delaware teachers; and
7	WHEREAS, the Delaware State Teacher of the Year is chosen for possessing a superior ability to inspire and
8	nurture students with a love of learning and for having won the admiration and respect of fellow teachers, school
9	administrators, and the parents of students; and
10	WHEREAS, Rebecca Louise Vitelli of Colonial Early Education Program in the Colonial School District has been
11	named Delaware State Teacher of the Year for 2020, as part of the National Teacher of the Year program—the oldest and
12	most prestigious award program that focuses public attention on excellence in teaching; and
13	WHEREAS, each of the other eighteen school districts has chosen a 2020 District Teacher of the Year, namely:
14	Appoquinimink School District: Stephen Landry
15	Brandywine School District: Lauren Conrad
16	Caesar Rodney School District: Sabra Collins
17	Cape Henlopen School District: Brennan Clarke
18	Capital School District: Erica N. Richard
19	Christina School District: Lindsey Muldoon
20	Colonial School District: Rebecca Louise Vitelli
21	Delaware Charter School Network: Kayla Sweet
22	Delmar School District: Donna Huston
23	Indian River School District: Arthur Henry Page 1 of 2

HD: NSW: MAW Released: 06/23/2021 06:26 PM

2141510359

24	Lake Forest School District: Christina Hughes-Gallo
25	Laurel School District: Donna Sava
26	Milford School District: Jaime Hill
27	New Castle County Vocational Technical School District: Anthony Webb
28	POLYTECH School District: Nick Post
29	Red Clay Consolidated School District: Richard F. Weaver III
30	Seaford School District: Laura Burke
31	Smyrna School District: Denise Balcerak
32	Sussex Technical School District: Dontez Collins
33	Woodbridge School District: Stephanie Vodvarka
34	NOW, THEREFORE:
35	BE IT RESOLVED by the House of Representatives of the 151st General Assembly of the State of Delaware, the
36	Senate concurring therein, that the Members do hereby commend Rebecca Louise Vitelli for the well-deserved designation
37	as 2020 Delaware State Teacher of the Year.
38	BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the entire membership of the Delaware General Assembly does hereby extend
39	heartfelt gratitude to Rebecca Louise Vitelli, Delaware State Teacher of the Year, and to each of the fellow Distric
40	Teachers of the Year for 2020, for their many contributions to the betterment of education in Delaware.
41	BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that suitably prepared copies of this House Concurrent Resolution be presented to
42	Rebecca Louise Vitelli and each of the District Teachers of the Year.

SYNOPSIS

This Concurrent Resolution commends the 2020 Delaware State Teacher of the Year, Rebecca Louise Vitelli, and all of the District Teachers of the Year.

Page 2 of 2 HD: NSW: MAW Released: 06/23/2021 06:26 PM

2141510359