

SPONSOR: Sen. Hansen & Rep. Lynn Sens. Paradee, Richardson, Sokola, Townsend

## DELAWARE STATE SENATE 150th GENERAL ASSEMBLY

## SENATE BILL NO. 84 AS AMENDED BY SENATE AMENDMENT NO. 2

AN ACT TO AMEND TITLE 29 OF THE DELAWARE CODE RELATING TO THE DELAWARE NATIVE SPECIES COMMISSION.

BE IT ENACTED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF DELAWARE:

Section 1. Amend § 8073, Title 29 of the Delaware Code by making deletions as shown by strike through and

insertions as shown by underline as follows:

§ 8073. Commission membership; qualifications; term of office [Expires June 7, 2028, pursuant to 81 Del. Laws,

c. 256, § 3]

- (a) The Commission is composed of <u>15\_19</u> members, as follows:
  - (1) Five Six members serving by virtue of position, or a designee appointed by the member, as follows:
    - a. The Secretary of the DNREC.
    - b. The Secretary of the Department of Agriculture.
    - c. The County Executive of New Castle County.
    - d. The County Administrator for Kent County.
    - e. The County Administrator for Sussex County.

f. The Secretary of the Department of Transportation.

(2) Ten members who are citizens of the State and Thirteen members, appointed by the Governor, as follows:

a. Five Six individuals who represent environmental organizations or Delaware institutions of higher

education, with expertise regarding Delaware plant or animal species.

b. Five Six individuals who represent stakeholder commercial interests in Delaware, such as land development, farming, and business.

c. One member who is a current or retired botanist or similar professional with expertise in Delaware plant species.