

SPONSOR: Rep. Reynolds & Sen. Sokola; On behalf of all Representatives, On behalf of all Senators

### HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

#### 141st GENERAL ASSEMBLY

#### HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 45

## COMMENDING THE STUDENTS SELECTED AS SECRETARY OF EDUCATION'S SCHOLARS OF 2002.

- 1 WHEREAS, the progress, prosperity, and tranquility of all states and nations depends upon the successful
- 2 education of their citizens and upon the wise and informed leadership those citizens can then provide; and
- 3 WHEREAS, promoting and rewarding intellectual distinction among our young people ranks as a prime concern
- 4 of our State; and
- 5 WHEREAS, students from Delaware public high schools have been identified for their distinguished academic
- 6 achievement and for their leadership in Statewide organizations; and
- 7 WHEREAS, their accomplishments reflect with great favor upon the skilled work of Delaware educators and
- 8 upon the generous support these students have received from their relatives, friends, and neighbors; and
- 9 WHEREAS, the people of Delaware take pride in the accomplishments of these students, whose discipline,
- 10 maturity, and diligence have enabled them to make full use of their native gifts; and
- 11 WHEREAS, such public recognition will encourage all students to strive to develop fully and ensure the 12 prosperity of the State as well as the personal enrichment of their lives.
- 13 NOW, THEREFORE:
- 14 BE IT RESOLVED by the House of Representatives of the 141<sup>st</sup> General Assembly of the State of Delaware, the
- 15 Senate concurring therein, commends and extends its best wishes for continued success to those students chosen as
- 16 Secretary of Education Scholars of 2002, namely:
- 17
- Appoquinimink School District: Heather Brackin and Katie Clements, Middletown High School;

18	•	Brandywine School District: Jessica Moss and Wen Allen Tseng, Brandywine High School; Beth Hardy
19		and Jeff Horowitz, Concord High School; and Ross Bickhart and Megan Morley, Mount Pleasant High
20		School;
21	•	Caesar Rodney School District: Melissa LaVenia, Joshua Lehman, and Michael McKain, Caesar Rodney
22		High School;
23	•	Cape Henlopen School District: Colleen Clark and Kathryn McPike, Cape Henlopen High School;
24	•	Capitol School District: Michael Hoffman, Charlene Kemmerle, and Letao Tao, Dover High School;
25	•	Christina School District: Lee Ye Chen, Summer Holmes, and Christina Parajon, Christiana High School;
26		Tara Drake and Daniel Roche, Glasgow High School; Timothy Monaghan, Greg Moore, and Matthew
27		Wells, Newark High School;
28	٠	Colonial School District: Danielle Eisenbrey, John Evans, Christina Pupillo, and Danielle Unflat, William
29		Penn High School;
30	•	Delmar School District: Jeffrey Wright, Delmar Middle & Senior High School;
31	•	Indian River School District: Brittany Croll, Indian River High School; Amanda Bly and Stephanie Parker,
32		Sussex Central High School;
33	•	Lake Forest School District: Thomas Hoffman and Sean Ward, Lake Forest High School;
34	•	Laurel School District: Erin Gemeny, Laurel High School;
35	•	Milford School District: Brigid O'Neill, Paul Rescigno, Robert Rescigno, and Craig Retzlaff, Milford High
36		School;
37	•	New Castle County Vocational-Technical School District: Taryn Joseph and Zachary Miller, Delcastle
38		Technical High School; Dona Priebe and Ashley Laws, Hodgson Vocational Technical High School;
39		Maggie Cheung and Jessica Groseclose, Howard High School of Technology;
40	•	POLYTECH School District: Amanda Curry and Laura Harvath, POLYTECH High School;
41	•	Red Clay Consolidated School District: Misty Seemans, Cab Calloway School of the Arts; Jessica Good
42		and Chana Kuhns, John Dickinson High School; Aaron Kim and Anjum Sharma, Alexis I. duPont High
43		School; Kennji Kuzuka and Elizabeth Wong, Thomas McKean High School;
44	•	Seaford School District: Shelley Odenwelder and Elise Wynn, Seaford Senior High School;

- Smyrna School District: Justin Falatek and Justin Willis, Smyrna High School;
- Sussex Technical School District: Jennifer Taylor and David Witt, Sussex Technical High School;
- Woodbridge School District: Bridget Bitto, Woodbridge Senior High School;
- Aaron Jackson and Erin Killheffer, Charter School of Wilmington; and
- Samantha Kimmey, Positive Outcomes Charter School.
- 50 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that copies of this resolution be sent to the Secretary of Education for
- 51 distribution to the students chosen for this special honor.

# **SYNOPSIS**

This Resolution commends the students selected as Secretary of Education's Scholars of 2002.