

SPONSOR: Rep. Ulbrich &

Sen. Sorenson & Sen. Amick; Reps. Spence, Smith, Lee, Atkins, Booth, Boulden, Buckworth, Carey, Cathcart, Caulk, DiPinto, D. Ennis, Ewing, Fallon, Hocker, Hudson, Lavelle, Lofink, Maier, Miro, Oberle, Quillen, Reynolds, Roy, Stone, Thornburg, Valihura, Wagner, Gilligan, Van Sant, B. Ennis, George, Hall-Long, Houghton, Keeley, Mulrooney, Plant, Schwartzkopf, Viola, Williams; Sens. Adams, McDowell, DeLuca, Blevins, Bunting, Cook, Henry, Marshall, McBride, Peterson, Sokola, Vaughn, Venables, Still, Bonini, Cloutier, Connor, Copeland, Simpson

## HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

## 142nd GENERAL ASSEMBLY

## HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION NO. 17

CONGRATULATING THE UNIVERSITY OF DELAWARE FIGHTIN' BLUE HENS FOOTBALL TEAM ON WINNING ITS FIRST DIVISION 1-AA NATIONAL CHAMPIONSHIP AND THANKING THEM FOR A SPECTACULAR AND MEMORABLE 2003 FOOTBALL SEASON.

1 WHEREAS, the University of Delaware Fightin' Blue Hens achieved hard fought regular season victories over The 2 Citadel, Richmond, West Chester, Hofstra, William & Mary, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, the United States Naval 3 Academy, Maine, Massachusetts and Villanova; and 4 WHEREAS, the Fightin' Blue Hens continued their dominance and intensity on the field in the playoffs with three 5 home victories at Tubby Raymond Field in Newark over Southern Illinois, Northern Iowa and Wofford; and 6 WHEREAS, thousands of loyal Delawareans descended upon Chattanooga, Tennessee to cheer on and watch their 7 beloved Delaware Blue Hens soundly defeat Colgate 40-0 on a cold Friday, December 19th, 2003 to claim Delaware's first 8 Division 1-AA National Football Title; and 9 WHEREAS, the University of Delaware student athletes who comprise the team are among the 360,000 National 10 Collegiate Athletic Association athletes who dedicate their time and energy to playing college sports; and 11 WHEREAS, the student athletes deserve recognition for their ability to maintain their academic studies while meeting 12 the rigorous demands of playing college football; and

13	WHEREAS, the student athletes' resilience and ability to shrug off physical injury and adversity throughout the
14	season inspired the citizens of Delaware; and
15	WHEREAS, Head Coach K.C. Keeler and his entire coaching staff deserve the utmost praise for their outstanding
16	leadership, unceasing energy, fierce determination and brilliant play-calling during the entire season; and
17	WHEREAS, the proud citizens of Delaware will forever treasure this memorable and historic fifteen-win season and
18	express thanks and appreciation for the infectious excitement the Blue Hen football experience brings to their lives.
19	NOW, THEREFORE:
20	BE IT RESOLVED by the House of Representatives and the Senate of the 142 <sup>nd</sup> General Assembly of the State of
21	Delaware, with the approval of the Governor, that the 2003 University of Delaware Fightin' Blue Hens be recognized for a
22	remarkable regular and playoff season.
23	BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that all members of the 2003 Delaware Fightin' Blue Hen team be congratulated on
24	an outstanding effort: Mike Adams, Blake Anderson, Nat Bell, Germaine Bennett, Greg Benson, Rich Beverley, Mike
25	Bingnear, Sean Bleiler, Joe Bleymaier, David Boler, Roger Brown, Craig Browne, Mike Buchman, Dave Camburn, Kyle
26	Campbell, Ryan Carty, Nicos Chavis, Mark Ciavirella, Anthony Cinelli, Leon Clarke, Scott Conley, Joe Cordrey, G. J.
27	Crescione, Ben Cross, Maguell Davis, Marquez Davis, Mondoe Davis, Bobby Delacy, Trip DelCampo, T.J. DiMuzio, Chris
28	Edwards, Andy Hall, Sidney Haugabrook, KeiAndre Hepburn, Nick Iarrobino, Brian Ingram, Randall James, Antawn Jenkins,
29	Brian Jennings, Bubba Jespersen, Shawn Johnson, Lawrence Jones, Jeremy Kametz, Terry Kelly, Drew Kisner, Chris Korkuch,
30	Marco Kristen, Justin LaForgia, Rick Lavelle, Niquan Lee, Justin Long, Dominic Madigan, Antoine McClure, Ryan
31	McDermond, Brad Michael, Chris Mooney, Mark Moore, Brendon Morfe, John Mulhern, Vince Mumford, John Nauss, Jason
32	Nerys, Jesse O'Neill, Tom Parks, George Potts, Kevin Pulley, Jeff Robinson, Jamie Rotonda, Lou Samba, Dominic Santoli,
33	Steve Selk, Brad Shushman, Brian Sims, Andy Snapp, Lonnie Starks, Brent Steinmetz, Sean Sweeney, Michael Taylor, Zach
34	Thomas, Jeffrey Thompson, Paul Thomson, Bryan Tingle, Ryan Trask, Richard Washington, Mike Weber, Brett Wharton,
35	Andrew Wilson, Rashaad Woodard, and Jared Wray.
36	BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that Head Coach K.C. Keeler, Assistant Coaches Kirk Ciarrocca, David Cohen, Bryan
37	Bossard, Kyle Flood, Paul Williams, Rob Neviaser, Rick Brown, Brian Ginn, Frank Law, Craig Cummings, Brandon Walker,
38	Michael Marks, Russell Barbarino; Sports Medicine Physician Dr. Vince Disabella, Head Athletic Trainer Keith Handling, and
39	staff assistant Mary Hecker be honored for taking the University of Delaware Fightin' Blue Hens to their first Division 1-AA
40	National Championship.

- BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that suitably prepared copies be mailed by the Chief Clerk of the House of
- 42 Representatives to the University of Delaware Athletics Department and each member of the team.

## **SYNOPSIS**

This resolution congratulates the University of Delaware Fightin' Blue Hens Football Team on winning its first Division 1-AA National Championship and thanks the team for a spectacular and memorable 2003 football season.