

SPONSOR: Rep. D.E. Williams & Rep. J. Johnson & Sen. Marshall Reps. Baumbach, Bolden, Brady, Briggs King, Heffernan, Longhurst, Potter, Ramone, Viola, Wilson; Sens. Bonini, Henry, Poore, Townsend

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

147th GENERAL ASSEMBLY

HOUSE SUBSTITUTE NO. 1 FOR HOUSE BILL NO. 231 AS AMENDED BY HOUSE AMENDMENT NO. 1 AND SENATE AMENDMENT NO. 1

AN ACT TO AMEND TITLE 29 OF THE DELAWARE CODE RELATING TO THE DIAMOND STATE PORT CORPORATION.

BE IT ENACTED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF DELAWARE (two-thirds of all members elected to each house thereof concurring therein):

Section 1. Amend § 8781(b), Title 29 of the Delaware Code by making deletions as shown by strike through and

insertions as shown by underline as follows:

(b) The Corporation shall be governed by a board of directors consisting of $45 \underline{17}$ members, all of whom shall be residents of this State. Eight of these directors shall be: (i) the Secretary of State, (ii) the Secretary of Transportation and (iii) the Director of the Delaware Economic Development Office, (iv) the Secretary of Finance, (v) the Controller General, (vi) the Co-Chairs of the General Assembly's Joint Legislative Committee on the Capital Improvement Program or their designee or designees and (vii) the Secretary of the Department of Safety and Homeland Security. The Governor shall appoint the Chair from among the 5 cabinet directors and the Chair shall serve at the pleasure of the Governor. The Chair shall be subject to the advice and consent of the Senate; however, such consent shall be limited to the additional duties of the Chair of this Corporation and not impact the prior confirmation as Cabinet Secretary. Of The the remaining 7 9 directors, <u>7</u> shall be appointed by the Governor with the advice and consent <u>of</u> the Senate. These 7 directors shall consist of individuals from the private or public business sectors and organized labor familiar with port and economic development issues. There shall be at least 1 director from each of the 3 counties of the State, at least 1 director from the City of Wilmington and 3 directors who shall fill at-large positions on the Board. Of these 7 directors no more than 4 shall be

registered in the same major political party. The terms of the original of these 7 such directors shall be as follows: 2 directors to serve for 1 year; 2 directors to serve for 2 years; and 2 directors to serve for 3 years. Each noncabinet director shall serve a term of three years. Of the remaining 2 directors, the Senate president *pro tempore* and the Speaker of the House of Representatives shall each appoint 1 director to serve 3 year terms.