

SPONSOR: Rep. D.E. Williams & Rep. J. Johnson & Sen. Marshall Reps. Baumbach, Bolden, Brady, Briggs King, Heffernan, Longhurst, Potter, Ramone, Viola, Wilson; Henry, Poore, Townsend

## HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES 147th GENERAL ASSEMBLY

## HOUSE BILL NO. 231

## AN ACT TO AMEND TITLE 29 OF THE DELAWARE CODE RELATING TO THE DIAMOND STATE PORT CORPORATION.

BE IT ENACTED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF DELAWARE:

Section 1. Amend § 8781(b), Title 29 of the Delaware Code by making deletions as shown by strike through and
insertions as shown by underline as follows:

3 (b) The Corporation shall be governed by a board of directors consisting of 15 21 members, all of whom shall be 4 residents of this State. Eight of these directors shall be: (i) the Secretary of State, (ii) the Secretary of Transportation and 5 (iii) the Director of the Delaware Economic Development Office, (iv) the Secretary of Finance, (v) the Controller General, 6 (vi) the Co-Chairs of the General Assembly's Joint Legislative Committee on the Capital Improvement Program or their 7 designee or designees and (vii) the Secretary of the Department of Safety and Homeland Security. The Governor shall 8 appoint the Chair from among the 5 cabinet directors and the Chair shall serve at the pleasure of the Governor. The Chair 9 shall be subject to the advice and consent of the Senate; however, such consent shall be limited to the additional duties of 10 the Chair of this Corporation and not impact the prior confirmation as Cabinet Secretary. The remaining 7 Seven directors 11 shall be appointed by the Governor with the advice and consent the Senate. These 7 directors shall consist of individuals 12 from the private or public business sectors and organized labor familiar with port and economic development issues. There 13 shall be at least 1 director from each of the 3 counties of the State, at least 1 director from the City of Wilmington and 3 14 directors who shall fill at-large positions on the Board. Of these 7 directors no more than 4 shall be registered in the same 15 major political party. The terms of the original of these 7 such directors shall be as follows: 2 directors to serve for 1 year; 16 2 directors to serve for 2 years; and 2 directors to serve for 3 years. Of the remaining 6 members, 3 directors shall be 17 appointed by the Senate pro tempore and 3 shall be appointed by the Speaker of the House of Representatives. The terms 18 of the original 3 directors appointed by the Senate pro tempore shall be as follows: 1 director to serve for 1 year; 1 director 19 to serve for 2 years; and 1 director to serve for 3 years. The terms of the original 3 directors appointed by the Speaker of

- 20 the House of Representatives shall be as follows: 1 director to serve for 1 year; 1 director to serve for 2 years; and 1 director
- 21 to serve for 3 years. Each noncabinet director shall serve a term of 3 years. Following each of the original noncabinet
- 22 director terms of service, all subsequent terms shall be 3 years.

## **SYNOPSIS**

This bill adds 6 members to the current 15 member Diamond State Port Corporation Board of Directors. The Senate *pro tempore* and Speaker of the House will each appoint 3 directors. The original directors appointed will serve staggered term lengths.