

SPONSOR: Rep. S. Moore on behalf of all Representatives & Sen. Sturgeon on behalf of all Senators

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES 152nd GENERAL ASSEMBLY

HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 48

COMMENDING HEATHER HITCHENS REPRESENTING THE LAKE FOREST SCHOOL DISTRICT FOR BEING SELECTED AS DELAWARE'S EDUCATIONAL SUPPORT PROFESSIONAL OF THE YEAR FOR 2023 AND COMMENDING EACH SCHOOL DISTRICT AND CHARTER NETWORK'S EDUCATIONAL SUPPORT PROFESSIONAL OF THE YEAR.

- 1 WHEREAS, educational support professionals work each day with more than 141,000 children who attend 250
- 2 Delaware public schools in 19 school districts and 23 charter schools; and
- 3 WHEREAS, educational support professionals strive for excellence in their profession when they know that the
- 4 community supports them and appreciates their efforts on behalf of our children; and
- 5 WHEREAS, the Educational Support Professional of the Year program identifies building and district
- 6 representatives who embody the best qualities of all Delaware teachers; and
- 7 WHEREAS, the Delaware Educational Support Professional of the Year Program recognizes outstanding service by
- 8 school employees who provide direct or indirect services to students and their families: and
- 9 WHEREAS, Heather Hitchens of Lake Forest Central Elementary School in the Lake Forest School District has
- 10 been named Delaware State Educational Support Professional of the Year for 2023; and
- 11 WHEREAS, 19 of the other school districts and the Delaware Charter Network has chosen a 2023 District/Charter
- 12 Educational Support Professional of the Year, namely :
- 13 Appoquinimink School District: Claudine Strawbridge
- 14 Brandywine School District: Meg Brown
- 15 Caesar Rodney School District: Jossette Threatts
- 16 Cape Henlopen School District: Brittany Hoeller
- 17 Capital School District: David Hom
- 18 Christina School District: Matthew Stearn
- 19 Colonial School District: Joseph Davis
- 20 Delmar School District: Michelle Niblett

21	Indian River School District: Arleth Avalos
22	Lake Forest School District: Heather Hitchens
23	Laurel School District: Ashley Pugh
24	Milford School District: Lisa McQueen
25	New Castle County Vocational Technical School District: Michele Marra
26	POLYTECH School District: Jodine Cybulski
27	Red Clay Consolidated School District: Clare Lawrence
28	Seaford School District: Daniel Hopkins
29	Smyrna School District: Pamela Hilliard
30	Sussex Technical School District: Kim Speicher
31	Woodbridge School District: Ricki Truitt
32	Delaware Charter School Network: Eric Winston
33	NOW, THEREFORE:
34	BE IT RESOLVED by the House of Representatives of the 152 nd General Assembly of the State of Delaware, the
35	Senate concurring therein, that the Members do hereby commend Heather Hitchens for the well-deserved designation as 2023
36	Delaware Educational Support Professional of the Year.
37	BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the entire membership of the Delaware General Assembly does hereby extend
38	heartfelt gratitude to Heather Hitchens, Delaware Educational Support Professional of the Year, and to each of the fellow
39	Educational Support Professionals of the Year for 2023, for their many contributions to the betterment of education in
40	Delaware.
41	BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that suitably prepared copies of this House Concurrent Resolution be presented to
42	Heather Hitchens and each of the District/Charter Network Educational Support Professionals of the Year.

SYNOPSIS

This Concurrent Resolution commends the 2023 Delaware Educational Support Professional of the Year, Heather Hitchens, and all of the District/Charter Network Educational Support Professionals of the Year.