Daily Report for 2/26/2021

Governor's Actions

No legislation is Signed by Governor Today

New Legislation Introduced

BillCurrent StatusSponsorSynopsisTitle
SB 70CommitteeLawsonCurrently, under § 718 of Title 7 of the Delaware Code, it is unlawful for an individual to hunt any wildlife, except migratory game birds, during deer season without displaying at least 400 square inches of hunter orange material. This Act requires the wearing of hunter orange by all individuals who are on public land designated for deer hunting during deer season by the Department of Natural Resources and Environmental Control or the Department of Agriculture. Failure to wear hunter orange as required by this Act is a class D environmental violation, which is subject to a $50 to $100 fine for a first offense under § 1304(g) of Title 7 of the Delaware Code. This Act requires a greater than majority vote for passage because § 28 of Article IV of the Delaware Constitution requires the affirmative vote of two-thirds of the members elected to each house of the General Assembly to create a new crime within the jurisdiction of the Justice of the Peace Court.AN ACT TO AMEND TITLE 7 OF THE DELAWARE CODE RELATING TO WEARING OF HUNTER ORANGE ON PUBLIC LAND.
SB 71CommitteeLawsonIn almost every mass murder that has occurred in the United States over the past 2 decades, subsequent investigations have revealed that the perpetrator had displayed what have become known as “red flag indicators” which, if known, identified, and reported, might have allowed trained professionals to intervene. In far too many cases, these red flag indicators were observed, but because of a lack of training or inadequate reporting, tracking, or referral policies in schools, no action was taken to stop the perpetrator before the attack. This Act requires red flag indicator training for teachers, school principals, counselors, school nurses, and other school district or charter school employees who interact with students, the people most likely to exhibit red flag indicators during the school day. This Act also requires that each school district and charter school establish and implement red flag indicator reporting, tracking, and referral policies. These policies will allow for the timely referral of at-risk students for needed mental health evaluation or treatment or law enforcement action. To protect teachers, administrators, and other school district or charter school employees, this Act provides immunity from criminal liability, civil liability, or professional discipline for employees who follow school district or charter school red flag indicator policies to report a student’s red flag behavior. Finally, Section 2 of this Act makes a technical correction by redesignating § 4168 of Title 14, regarding the Department of Education’s regulatory authority, to be § 4161A of Title 14 to avoid repeatedly moving this provision as Subchapter II of Chapter 41 of Title 14 grows. Section 4168 was previously designated § 4167 until 2019 when Chapter 212 of Volume 82 of the Laws of Delaware redesignated the provision.AN ACT TO AMEND TITLE 14 OF THE DELAWARE CODE RELATING TO NONACADEMIC TRAINING.

Legislation Passed By Senate

No Legislation Passed By Senate

Legislation Passed By House of Representatives

No Legislation Passed By House

Senate Committee Assignments

Banking, Business & Insurance
Elections & Government Affairs
Environment & Energy
Health & Social Services

House Committee Assignments

No House Committee Assignments

Senate Committee Report

No Senate Committee Report

House Committee Report

No House Committee Report

Senate Defeated Legislation

No Senate Defeated Legislation

House Defeated Legislation

No House Defeated Legislation

Nominations Enacted upon by the Senate

No Records