Daily Report for 3/3/2022

Governor's Actions

No legislation is Signed by Governor Today

New Legislation Introduced

BillCurrent StatusSponsorSynopsisTitle
HB 306CommitteeSpiegelmanThis Act amends Chapter 27 and Chapter 31 of Title 21 of the Delaware Code. First, it amends Chapter 27 by amending the requirement that a felon identified as a sex offender on their Drivers License identify themselves with a “Y”. This Act changes the requirement to an “SO”, instead of a “Y”. Next, this Act amends Chapter 31 by adding a requirement that the Court also take possession of their nondriver identification card, and issue a temporary identification card. It also requires the Division of Motor Vehicles issue Nondriver Identification Cards, where no such prior obligation existed, with “SO” on the front of such cards, as well as the phrase “sex offender” on the back of the Identification Card. This Act also establishes the fees applicable to sex offenders applying for a replacement identification card.AN ACT TO AMEND TITLE 21 OF THE DELAWARE CODE RELATING TO IDENTIFICATION OF SEX OFFENDERS ON DRIVERS LICENSES AND IDENTIFICATION CARDS
HB 312CommitteeHensleyThis bill creates a Delaware personal income tax credit, not to exceed $500 per year per individual for interest paid on student loans.AN ACT TO AMEND TITLE 30 OF THE DELAWARE CODE RELATING TO PERSONAL INCOME TAX AND STUDENT LOAN INTEREST PAID.
HB 319CommitteePostlesThere are presently at least 30 states that have a statute defining and protecting parental rights, or case law that interprets parental interests as a fundamental right. Delaware has neither. This proposal is the first leg of a constitutional amendment affirming that parents have a fundamental right to the care, custody and control of their children. The amendment contains two important protections with regard to government agencies asserting authority over children. The amendment would require government officials to prove that the proposed action was needed. If successful, government officials would be limited to taking the least intrusive means to accomplish their goal. This amendment would not shield neglectful or abusive parents, nor would it interfere with the obligation of government to protect the welfare of children. Since 2013, eight states have enacted laws defining and protecting parental rights. This measure shall be named the Parental Rights Protection Amendment.AN ACT PROPOSING AN AMENDMENT TO ARTICLE I OF THE DELAWARE CONSTITUTION RELATING TO PARENTAL RIGHTS.
SB 235CommitteeRichardsonThe Act protects the life of the unborn child at a time when the potential for the child to survive outside the womb increases, especially with the advancement of medical procedures. Specifically, this Act repeals the current sections of the Delaware Code relating to termination of human pregnancy and enacts The Pain-Capable Unborn Child Protection Act. Substantial medical evidence exists that an unborn child is capable of experiencing pain by 20 weeks after fertilization. As set forth in this Act, the General Assembly has the constitutional authority to make this judgment under decisions by the U.S. Supreme Court. In enacting The Pain-Capable Unborn Child Protection Act, Delaware is not asking the U.S. Supreme Court to overturn or replace the holding in Roe v. Wade. Rather, it asserts a separate and independent compelling state interest in unborn human life that exists once the unborn child is capable of experiencing pain.AN ACT TO AMEND TITLE 24 OF THE DELAWARE CODE RELATING TO UNBORN CHILDREN.
HA 1 to HB 305PassedOsienskiThis amendment makes several technical corrections. In addition, it does all of the following: 1. Adds explicit language protecting and indemnifying state employees, contractors, and volunteers who will be following state law under this Act which may be in contravention of federal law. 2. Specifies that in the event there are more qualified applicants than there are available licenses for a particular type of marijuana establishment, the Commissioner should use a lottery process to award licenses. 3. For marijuana cultivation facility licenses, specifies that the fee is based on the cannabis grow area and sets forth rules for calculating that area. 4. Assigns responsibility for license refunds to the Department of Homeland Security, as is current practice for alcohol licenses. 5. Clarifies certain civil penalties. 6. Clarifies costs and expenses that will be covered out of the Marijuana Regulation Fund. 7. Creates a state tax deduction for marijuana establishment business expenses for pass-through entities comparable to the one already in the bill for corportaions. 8. Exempts marijuana taxes paid from calculations of the gross receipts tax. 9. Makes administrative corrections requested by the Department of Finance. 10. Makes a technical correction to effective date clause to eliminate potential ambiguity.  

Legislation Passed By Senate

No Legislation Passed By Senate

Legislation Passed By House of Representatives

No Legislation Passed By House

Senate Committee Assignments

Banking, Business & Insurance
Elections & Government Affairs
Environment & Energy
Health & Social Services
Legislative Oversight & Sunset

House Committee Assignments

Public Safety & Homeland Security

Senate Committee Report

No Senate Committee Report

House Committee Report

No House Committee Report

Senate Defeated Legislation

No Senate Defeated Legislation

House Defeated Legislation

No House Defeated Legislation

Nominations Enacted upon by the Senate

Chaney, Ronald H.ConfirmedPublic Integrity CommissionNew
Eliassen, Craig ConfirmedDelaware Alcoholic Beverage Control Appeals CommissionNew
Garnsey, AngelaConfirmedLottery CommssionNew
Singh, MonaConfirmedProfessional Standards BoardNew
Smalls, AlexConfirmedPublic Integrity CommissionNew