Delaware General Assembly







TO: Heads of All State Departments and Agencies.

RE: The Establishment of the Delaware Tomorrow Commission.

WHEREAS, it is essential that the State of Delaware devise a statewide development policy on growth in the areas of industrial, commercial and residential development including open space, recreation, and transportation; and

WHEREAS, the General Assembly has recognized these problems by enacting specific legislation or resolutions, such as Senate Bill 257, House Bill 882 and House Concurrent Resolution 49, dealing with specific areas of this overall general problem.

WHEREAS, in 1971 the State of Delaware enacted into law the Coastal Zone Industrial Control Act which regulates industries in the coastal areas of the State, and in the two years since the passage of this Act there has been considerable controversy over it and the State's policy on economic growth; and

WHEREAS, a comprehensive State development policy must be developed for all, but only after considering the interests of not just government but business, industry, labor, environmentalists, and most importantly, the people of Delaware.

NOW, THEREFORE, I, SHERMAN W. TRIBBITT, by the authority vested in me as Governor of the State of Delaware, do hereby declare and order as follows:

1. The "Delaware Tomorrow Commission" is hereby established.

2. The Commission is charged with the responsibility to develop a statewide plan for growth.

3. The Commission shall investigate development policy of other states as well as hold meetings and seminars throughout the State to receive contributions from our citizens.

4. This Commission shall submit to the Governor and the General Assembly by June 1, 1975 its findings and recommendations. However, the final decision as to the date of submission of the Commission's findings shall rest with the Commission. At the discretion of the Commission, draft legislation may be submitted to implement its findings. Its report shall include but need not be limited to a strategy for industrial, commercial and residential development, land use and statewide zoning, a policy regarding transportation, recreation and open space consistent with a quality environment.

0. The Commission shall consist of 27 members who shall be appointed as follows:

1. Secretary, Department of Highways and Transportation

2. Secretary, Department of Labor

3. Secretary, Department of Community Affairs and Economic Development

4. Secretary, Department of Natural Resources and Environmental Control

5. Director, State Planning

6. Mayor of Wilmington, or his designee

7. New Castle County Executive, or his designee

8. President, Kent County Levy Court, or his designee

9. President, Sussex County Council, or his designee

0. President, League of Local Governments, or his designee

1. President, Delaware State Chamber of Commerce, or his designee

2. President, Building Trades Council, or his designee

3. President, State Labor Council, or his designee

14. President, Delawareans for Orderly Development, or his designee

15. Chairman, Sierra Club, or his designee

16. President, Save our Shores, or his designee

17. Chairman, Common Cause of Delaware, or his designee

18. Chairman, Coastal Zone Industrial Control Board, or his designee

19. Chairman, Greater Wilmington Development Council, or his designee

20. 2 members of the House of Representatives, to be designated by the Speaker of the House, one from each political party

0. 2 members of the Delaware State Senate, to be designated by the President Pro Tempore of the Senate, one from each political party

1. 4 members to be designated by the Governor

6. The Chairman of the Commission shall be designated by the Governor and the Vice-Chairman of the Commission shall be designated by a majority of the members of the Commission.

Approved this 19th day of June, 1974.






Secretary of State