Delaware General Assembly







TO: Heads of All State Departments and Agencies

RE: Establishment of the Coastal Zone Management Committee

WHEREAS, the coastal areas of Delaware are the most critical areas for the future of the State in terms of the quality of life in the State; and

WHEREAS, the proper management of the coastal areas is essential to prevent uncoordinated and piecemeal development which threatens the loss of irreplaceable natural resources and which threatens to result in a pattern of use of the coastal zone as a whole which has not adequately balanced the needs for conservation and development, nor consciously assigned priorities to and chosen between competing public and private uses; and

WHEREAS, proper information, techniques and mechanisms for coastal zone management are sorely lacking at all levels of government; and

WHEREAS, the federal Coastal Zone Management Act of 1972 (P.L. No. 92-583, 86 Stat. 1280) provides grants to coastal states for the development of coastal management programs which will achieve the wise use of the coastal zone land and water resources;

NOW, THEREFORE, I, SHERMAN W. TRIBBITT, by virtue of the authority vested in me as Governor of the State of Delaware, do hereby declare and order as follows:

1. The Delaware State Planning Office shall develop and submit an application for federal assistance under the Coastal Zone Management Act of 1972, and shall serve as Delaware's official liaision with the Office of Coastal Environment, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration, U.S. Department of Commerce for the purposes of this program; and

2. A Coastal Zone Management Committee is hereby established whose membership shall include but not necessarily be limited to:

Delaware Department of Natural Resources & Environmental Control

Delaware Department of Community Affairs & Economic Development

College of Marine Studies, University of Delaware

New Castle County Department of Planning

Kent County Planning Department

Sussex County Planning Department

City of Wilmington, Planning Department

Wilmington Metropolitan Area Planning Coordinating Council


Delaware River Basin Commission

Delaware Coastal Zone Industrial Control Board

Delaware State Planning Office

Delaware Department of Agriculture

Delaware Department of Highways and Transportation

Council on State Planning

Chairman (or designee), Senate Natural Resource Committee

and Community Affairs Committee

Chairman (or designee), House Natural Resource Committee,

Community Affairs Committee, and Environmental Control Committee

Local government representatives (three total, one selected in each county

by the governmental units in the coastal zone in that county)

United States Army Corps of Engineers

United States Department of the Interior, Bureau of Sports Fisheries

and Wildlife

The Coastal Zone Management Committee shall provide guidance to the Planning Office, and serve as a forum for resolution of Coastal Zone issues, development of goals and objectives, exchange of information, coordination of work programs, and development of recommendations on methods and approaches to facilitate management of Delaware's Coastal Zone.

Approved this 27th day of May, 1974.






Secretary of State