Delaware General Assembly



WHEREAS, there has been an expression of sentiment in favor of revising the Constitution of the State of Delaware; and

WHEREAS, the history of previous Constitutional Conventions reveals that such conventions were often conducted in secret and the Constitutions promulgated without the general public of the State being apprised of the provisions of the Constitutions until after their promulgation ; and

WHEREAS, the experience of other states has shown that a Constitutional Convention is time consuming and inefficient, and that Constitutional Revision Commissions are more effective and efficient, now then


Section 1. There is hereby created the Delaware Constitutional Revision Commission which shall consist of five members to be appointed by the Governor, five members to be appointed by the President Pro tempore of the Senate, and five members to be appointed by the Speaker of the House. Three members of the Commission shall reside in Sussex County, three members shalt reside in Kent County, three members shall reside in the City of Wilmington, and six members shall reside in New Castle County outside the City of Wilmington. Of the fifteen members, the Governor, President Pro tempore of the Senate and Speaker of the House shall each appoint one member from Sussex County, one member from Kent County, one member from the City of Wilmington, and two members from New Castle County outside the City of Wilmington. No more than eight members shall be registered members of the political party which received the largest vote for Governor at the last general election. All appointments shall be made within thirty days of the effective date hereof. Within thirty days of the last appointment, the members of the Commission shall, by majority vote, elect a

chairman from among the members of the Commission. If the members of the Commission do not elect a chairman within the time provided, the Governor shall name an acting chairman from among the members of the Commission, and the acting chairman shall act as chairman until the members elect a permanent chairman as provided in this section. The permanent chairman, or the acting chairman if no permanent chairman has been elected, shall serve in such a position until the purposes of this act are completed or until he vacates the chair by resignation or death or until he shall be removed from the position of chairman by a vote of no less than eight members of the Commission.

Section 2. The Commission shall, before January 10, 1969, submit to the General Assembly a proposed draft for a new Constitution for the State of Delaware, or shall present a draft of proposed amendments to the present Constitution.

Section 3. The Commission shall have full power and authority to engage such aid and assistance as it deems necessary in order to effectuate the purpose of this act.

Section 4. The sum of Ten Thousand Dollars ($10,000.00) is hereby appropriated from the General Fund of the State of Delaware to enable the Commission established hereby to carry out the purposes of this Act.

Section 5. Any of the monies appropriated herein which shall remain unexpended on June 30, 1969, shall revert to the Fund from which they are herein appropriated.

Approved December 28, 1967.